At the 25th European Film Awards in Malta on 1-2 December the French/German/Austrian film 'Amour' written and directed by Michael Haneke took the main prizes: Best European Film, Best Director, Best Actress and Best Actor.

The awards for the best European actor went to Jean-Louis Trintignant and for the best European actress to Emmanuelle Riva. British star Helen Mirren was honoured with the European Achievement in World Cinema award and Italian legendary director Bernardo Bertolucci received this year’s Lifetime Achievement Award. Awards were given in 17 different categories. All films which got an award - with the exception of the Best Documentary - were supported by the European Commission support programme MEDIA.

The Belgian film "Hasta la Vista" by Geoffrey Enthoven won the People's choice Award 2012, also supported by MEDIA.

"This special anniversary gives us an opportunity to reflect on the incredible talent which has been nominated and rewarded over the past 25 years! And this year is no exception – the list of nominees in 2012 contains an impressive range of talent for us to celebrate and enjoy. The European Film Awards Ceremony contributes to bring European films into the spotlight and inspire an even greater passion for European cinema" said Androulla Vassiliou, the European Commissioner for Education, Culture, Multilingualism and Youth.

The European Film Awards are organised every year by the European Film Academy. The Awards Ceremony takes place in Berlin every second year. In the other years, the Awards travel: London, Paris, Rome, Barcelona, Warsaw, Copenhagen,Tallinn and in 2012 Malta. The European Film Academy was founded in 1988 and unites now 2,700 European film professionals with the aim of promoting Europe’s film culture. The EU's MEDIA programme supports the Academy with an annual grant of €175.000.

Geoffrey Enthoven and team 

Geoffrey Enthoven and the team of the film "Hasta la Vista"

More info