This site has been archived on 31/03/14
Visit new website!

Language selector

  • Current language:en

The EU has 27 Member States since Bulgaria and Romania joined the EU on 1 January 2007.

Candidate countries (currently Croatia, Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia and Turkey) and potential candidate countries have to meet a number of accession criteria before they can become a Member State of the EU.

This includes not only adopting the body of EU consumer legislation but also by bringing their institutions, administrative and judicial systems and enforcement capabilities up to EU standards.



Public HealthFood SafetyConsumer Affairs
requires javascript