EU role in consular protection

The European Commission is committed to helping EU governments provide consular protection to nationals of other EU Member States – in particular through:

  • recommending that new passports issued in the EU include a version of this wording to indicate your rights:
    “Every citizen of the Union shall, in the territory of a non-EU country in which the Member State of which he is a national is not represented, be entitled to protection by the diplomatic or consular authorities of any Member State, on the same conditions as the nationals of that State.”

    (EU Member States which have printed this in their passports)