Navigation path

Policy areas
Who is in charge?
Competition and you



Thursday 17 January 2019, 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM CET


European Commission
Charlemagne building
Rue de la Loi 170
1000 Brussels

View on map


Registration is closed since 1/12/2018

This event is free

This event will be livestreamed

Due to limited capacity, the Commission will not be able to accept all registration requests. In reviewing the requests, the Commission will endeavour to ensure a balanced representation of stakeholders in the audience.

In case of questions or problems with the registration process, please contact us by e-mail to


  • Competition, Data and Artificial Intelligence
  • Digital Platforms' Market Power
  • Preserving Digital Innovation


  • Margrethe Vestager, EU Competition Commissioner
  • Mariya Gabriel, EU Commissioner for the Digital Economy & Society
  • Jean Tirole, chairman of the Toulouse School of Economics, laureate of the 2014 Sveriges Riksbank prize in economic sciences in memory of Alfred Nobel
  • Oliver Bäte, Chief Executive Officer of Allianz
  • Heike Schweitzer, Professor of Law, Humboldt Universität zu Berlin, and Special Adviser to Commissioner Vestager
  • Jacques Crémer, researcher and former Professor of Economics at the Toulouse School of Economics, and Special Adviser to Commissioner Vestager
  • Yves-Alexandre de Montjoye, Assistant Professor of Data Science, Imperial College, and Special Adviser to Commissioner Vestager
  • Johannes Laitenberger, Director-General of the European Commission's Directorate-General for Competition
  • Mariana Mazzucato, Professor in the Economics of Innovation and Public Value, University College London
  • Karen Yeung, Interdisciplinary Professorial Fellow in Law, Ethics and Informatics, Birmingham Law School
  • Fiona Scott Morton, Theodore Nierenberg Professor of Economics, Yale University School of Management
  • John Van Reenen, Gordon Y. Billard Professor in Management and Economics and Professor of Applied Economics at the MIT Sloan School of Management and the MIT Department of Economics
  • Alessandro Acquisti, Professor of Information Technology and Public Policy, PwC William W. Cooper Professor of Risk and Regulatory Innovation, Carnegie Mellon University
  • Ariel Ezrachi, Slaughter and May Professor of Competition Law, University of Oxford
  • Rupprecht Podszun, Professor of Law, Heinrich Heine Universität Düsseldorf
  • Sandeep Vaheesan, Policy Counsel, Open Markets Institute, Washington D.C.

Contact us

You can contact us by e-mail to