Navigation path

Policy areas
Who is in charge?
Competition and you
Public consultations

Public consultations

Consultation on the de minimis Regulation No 1998/2006

Policy field

Competition: State aid

Target group

Public authorities, citizens, companies and organisations are welcome to contribute to this consultation. Contributions are particularly sought from the public authorities dealing with measures covered by the de minimis Regulation.

Period of consultation

From 26.07.2012 to 18.10.2012

Objective of the consultation

State funding meeting the criteria of Article 107(1) TFEU constitutes State aid. However, in application of Art 109 TFEU, the Council, by adopting Regulation (EC) No. 994/98 ('Enabling Regulation') enabled the Commission to set out in a Regulation a threshold below which aid measures are deemed not to meet all the criteria of Article 107(1) TFEU and are therefore exempted from the notification obligation under Article 108(3) TFEU.

On this basis, the Commission adopted Regulation (EC) 1998/2006 on the application of Articles 87 and 88 of the Treaty (now Articles 107 and 108 TFEU) to de minimis aid, applicable since 1 January 2007. This Regulation set the de minimis ceiling at EUR 200 000 per undertaking granted over any period of three fiscal years, and thus considerably simplified the granting of small amounts of support. It will expire on 31 December 2013 and will therefore be reviewed.

On 8 May 2012, the Commission adopted a Communication on the State aid modernisation initiative ('SAM'), which shall launch and frame the political debate on the modernisation of State aid control. The review of the de minimis Regulation is an important element of SAM.

The Commission invites the other Institutions, Member States and stakeholders to provide input for the revision of the de minimis Regulation. In order to ensure that as much information as possible is gathered for an appropriate revision of the Regulation, this questionnaire will focus not only on general questions relating to the application of the de minimis Regulation, but also on factual information regarding its use and on practical issues, including monitoring.


bg cs da de el en es et fi fr hu it lt lv mt nl pl pt ro sk sl sv (DOCX)
bg cs da de el en es et fi fr hu it lt lv mt nl pl pt ro sk sl sv (ODT)

Reference documents

Contact details

Responsible service: DG Competition, Unit A3. State aid policy and scrutiny
Please always indicate the reference number in your correspondence: HT.3572 – SAM – de minimis review
E-mail address for replies:

Postal address:
European Commission
Directorate-General for Competition
State aid Registry
1049 Bruxelles/Brussel
Ref.: HT.3572 – SAM – de minimis review

Replies to the consultation

Member States & Public authorities
  • Austria - Bundesministerium für Land- und Forstwirtschaft, Umwelt und Wasserwirtschaft de
  • Austrian Research Agency de
  • Austria - Permanent Representation de
  • Belgium - Fédération Wallonne de l'Agriculture fr
  • Belgium - AECM en
  • Belgium - Waterwegen en Zeekanaal NV (W&Z) en
  • Bulgarian authorities bg
  • Cyprus - Human Resource Development Authority el
  • Cyprus - Ministry of Education and Culture el
  • Cyprus - Permanent Representation en
  • Czech Republic - Permanent Representation cs
  • Denmark - Danish Transport Authority en
  • Estonia - Permanent Representation et
  • Finland - Government of Åland fi
  • Finland - Ministry of Employment and the Economy fi
  • France - Conseil Regional Auvergne fr
  • France - Communauté d'agglomération du boulonnais fr
  • France - Permanent Representation fr
  • France - Région Midi-Pyrénées fr
  • France - Conférénce des présidents des régions ultrapériphériques fr
  • Germany - Bundesverband Öffentlicher Banken Deutschlands de
  • Germany - Deutscher Landskreistag de
  • Germany - Deutscher Städte- und Gemeindebund de
  • Germany - Europabüro der bayerischen Kommunen de
  • Germany - Permanent Representation de
  • Greece - Ministry of Education & Religious Affairs en
  • Ireland - Enterprise Ireland en
  • Italy - Provincia Autonoma di Trento it
  • Italy - Regione Umbria it
  • Latvia - Permanent Representation lv
  • Lithuania - Akmenės rajono savivaldybės administracija lt
  • Lithuania - Alytaus miesto savivaldybės administracija lt
  • Lithuania - Jonavos rajono savivaldybes administracija lt
  • Lithuania - Joniškio rajono savivaldybės administracija lt
  • Lithuania - Lietuvos Respublikos susisiekimo ministerijos lt
  • Lithuania - Lietuvos Respublikos Žemės ūkio ministerija lt
  • Lithuania - Lietuvos Respublikos Žemės ūkio ministerija lt
  • Lithuania - Nacionaline mokejimo agentura prie Zemes ukio ministerijos lt
  • Lithuania - Palangos miesto savivaldybės administracija lt
  • Lithuania - Socialinės apsaugos ir darbo ministerija lt
  • Lithuania - Utenos rajono savivaldybės administracija lt
  • Lithuania - Valstybinė mokesčių inspekcija prie Lietuvos Respublikos finansų ministerijos lt
  • Lithuania - Varenos rajono savivaldybes administracija lt
  • Lithuania - Viešosios įstaigos Lietuvos verslo paramos agentūros lt
  • Lithuania - Vilniaus miesto savivaldybės administracija lt
  • Lithuania - Vilniaus rajono savivaldybė lt
  • Lithuania - Visagino savivaldybės administracija lt
  • Lithuania - Zarasų rajono savivaldybės administracija lt
  • Portugal - Região Autónoma da Madeira pt
  • Portugal - Permanent Representation pt
  • Spain - Agencia de Innovación y Desarrollo de Andalucía es
  • Spain - Generalitat de Catalunya es
  • Spain - Junta de Andalucía es
  • Spain - Ministry of Industry, Tourism and Trade es
  • Sweden - Ministry of Industry sv
  • United Kingdom - Comhairle nan Eilean Siar en
  • United Kingdom - Scottish Enterprise en
  • United Kingdom - Welsh Local Government Association en
Registered organisations
  • Austria - Bundesarbeitskammer de
  • Belgium - BusinessEurope en
  • Belgium - Euromontana en
  • Confederation of the Finnish Industries EK en
  • Cyprus - Chamber of Commerce and Industry en
  • Denmark - Confederation of Danish Industry en
  • Finland - MTK ry. / Maatalouslinja fi
  • France - Aramis fr
  • France - FNPHP fr
  • Germany - Zentralverband des Deutschen Handwerks de
  • Germany - Bundesverband der Deutschen Volksbanken und Raiffeisenbanken de
  • Germany - Verband deutscher Bürgschaftsbanken de
  • Germany - Verband kommunaler Unternehmen de
  • United Kingdom - Charity Tax Group en
  • United Kingdom - National Council for Voluntary Organisations en
  • United Kingdom - Wales Council for Voluntary Action en
Non-registered organisations
  • Belgium - ING Belgium fr
  • Belgium - Network of Financial Institutions for Small and Medium Sized Enterprises en
  • Belgium - Vlaamse Federatie Beschutte Werkplaatsen nl
  • France - Fédération de l'Horlogerie de l'Union européenne EuroTempus fr
  • Germany - Deutscher Städtetag de
  • Italy - Confcommercio International it
  • Italy - Intesa San Paolo en
  • Sweden - Confederation of Swedish enterprises en
  • United Kingdom - Tees Valley Unlimited en
  • United Kingdom - The National Trust en
  • United Kingdom - West Glamorgan Council on Alcohol & Drug Abuse Ltd en
Individual contributions
  • Italy - Attilio De Gregorio it
  • Spain - Cristóbal Espiñeira Fernández es
  • United Kingdom - John Ward and sons group limited en
back to the consultations page
Related links
Your voice in Europe: participate in other consultations