Navigation path

Policy areas
Who is in charge?
Competition and you
Public consultations


Public consultations

Review of the Commission's 2001 Broadcasting Communication

Policy field

State aid and media

Target group

Member states, consumers, public and private broadcasters, print media, telecom operators, internet companies.

Period of consultation

From 07.04.2009 to 08.05.2009

Objective of the consultation

The objective of this consultation is to gather information from stakeholders and citizens on a –revised- draft for a new Commission Communication which sets out the Commission's practice in applying the EC State aid rules to State funding of public service broadcasters. This new text is to update the existing Broadcasting Communication of 2001.

View the consultation document

bg cs da de el en es et fi fr hu it lt lv mt nl pl pt ro sk sl sv

Reference documents and other related consultations

See previous consultation

Contact details

Responsible service: DG COMP, Unit C4 Media and Information Services – State aid control
Postal address: European Commission, For the attention of the State Aid Registry
Reference: HT. 963, 1049 Bruxelles/Brussel, BELGIQUE/BELGIË
If you are sending your reply by postal mail, in order to ensure timely treatment of your reply, please also send a copy of your response to the above mentioned email address.

Reason why the consultation period is less than 8 weeks

This public consultation follows up on two preceding public consultations. The first public consultation was held between January and February 2008 (8 weeks), the second one between December 2008 and January 2009 (8 weeks). The draft we are consulting on now is an update of a preceding draft which was publicly consulted on in December 2008 and January 2009. In view of the two preceding public consultations and in particular the fact that this draft has already been subject to a public consultation before, we find that 4 weeks consultation period are adequate. Moreover, a longer deadline would also put at risk the timely adoption of the new Communication in line with the Commission's roadmap of the 2005 State Aid Action Plan.

View the contributions

In the interests of transparency, organisations have been invited to provide the public with relevant information about themselves by registering in the Interest Representative Register and subscribing to its Code of Conduct. If the organisation is not registered, the submission is published separately from the registered organisations.

Contributions from Registered Organisations

  • Association of Commercial Television in Europe (ACT) en
  • Association of European Radios (AER) en
  • Confederation of Finnish Industries (EK) en
  • European Broadcasting Union (EBU) en fr
  • European Centre of Employers and Enterprises providing Public Services (CEEP) en
  • European Federation of Journalists and European Region of UNI-MEI Global Union (EFJ, EURO-MEI) en
  • European Newspaper Publishers' Association (ENPA) en
  • European Publishers Council (EPC) en
  • Federation of Finnish Media Industry (FINNMEDIA) en
  • Telefónica es
  • Verband Privater Rundfunk und Telemedien (VPRT) de
  • Verband Österreichischer Privatsender (VÖP) de
  • Verband Österreichischer Zeitungen (VÖZ) de

Contributions from Public Authorities

  • Austria de
  • Belgium fr
  • Cyprus el
  • Czech Republic cs
  • Denmark dk
  • EEA EFTA States en
  • EFTA Surveillance Authority (ESA) en
  • Estonia et
  • Finland fi
  • France fr
  • Conseil Supérieur de l'Audiovisuel (CSA) fr
  • Hungary hu
  • Ireland en
  • Latvia lv
  • Lithuania en
  • Netherlands en
  • Poland pl
  • Portugal pt
  • Romania ro
  • Sweden en
  • United Kingdom en

Individual Contributions

  • Antena 3 Televisión es
  • Association de producteurs de cinéma et de télévision (EUROCINEMA) fr
  • Arbeitsgemeinschaft der öffentlich-rechtlichen Rundfunkanstalten der Bundesrepublik Deutschland (ARD) de
  • ATV Privat TV (ATV) de
  • Bertelsmann de
  • Channel 4 en
  • Danish Broadcast Corporation (DR) en
  • Deutscher Journalisten-Verband de
  • Dutch Newspaper Publishers Association (NDP) en
  • Ericsson en
  • European Alliance of Listeners' and Viewers' Associations (EURALVA) en
  • France Télévisions (FTV) fr
  • Hellenic Audiovisual Institute (IOM) el en
  • Interprovinciaal Overleg and Vereniging van Nederlandse Gemeenten (IPO-VNG) nl
  • Irish Labour Party en
  • KOAN Association d’Avocats fr
  • Mediaset en
  • Vasilios Papageorgopoulos, Mayor of Thessaloniki el
  • João Palmeiro pt
  • Österreichischer Rundfunk (ORF) de
  • ProSiebenSat.1 Media de
  • Radiotelevisione Italiana (RAI) it
  • Radio Televisión Española (RTVE) es
  • Rundfunkrat des Westdeutschen Rundfunks (WDR Rundfunkrat) de
  • Satellite and Cable Broadcasters’ Group (SCBG) en
  • SPD Fraktion im Deutschen Bundestag (SPD) de
  • Sociedade Independente de Comunicação (SIC) pt
  • Sky Italia (SKY) en
  • Société des Auteurs et Compositeurs Dramatiques (SACD) fr
  • Sogecable es
  • Sveriges Radio, Sveriges Television, Sveriges Utbildningsradio (Swedish PSBs) en
  • talkSPORT en
  • Verband Deutscher Zeitschriftenverleger (VDZ) de
  • Vlaamse Radio en Televisieomroep (VRT), Stichting Regionale Omroep Overleg (ROOS) and Nederlandse Publieke Omroep (NPO) nl
  • Finnish Broadcast Company (YLE) fi
  • Zweites Deutsches Fernsehen (ZDF) de
Protection of personal data Privacy statement

back to the consultations page
Related links
Your voice in Europe: participate in other consultations