Barroso opens Global Jean Monnet-ECSA World Conference

Navigation path

Barroso opens Global Jean Monnet-ECSA World Conference

Leading policy-makers and academics will discuss the impact of the Lisbon Treaty on the European Union at a two day conference in Brussels on 25-26 May. European Commission President José Manuel Barroso today opened the Global Jean Monnet-European Community Studies Association (ECSA) World Conference, with Androulla Vassiliou, Commissioner for Education, Culture, Multilingualism and Youth, and Doris Pack, chair of the European Parliament's Committee on Culture and Education. Commissioner Vassiliou presented the 2010 Jean Monnet Prize to Professor Tibor Palánkai, Director of the European Studies and Education Center at Budapest's Corvinus University, for his pioneering role in European integration studies.

Commissioner Vassiliou said: "The European Commission attaches great importance to the work of the Global Jean Monnet-ECSA World Conference, which has inspired and contributed to many Commission initiatives, from the intercultural dialogue to Euro-Mediterranean co-operation and the Neighbourhood Policy.

"I am also very pleased that I will have the privilege of presenting the 2010 Jean Monnet Prize to ProfessorPalánkai, whose outstanding contribution is in the great tradition of theJean Monnet network.In recent years, the network has played a vital role in broadening understanding of the EU and the need for a common approach to tackle the big challenges we face in Europe."

The conference, which takes place at the European Parliament, analyses the impact of the Lisbon Treaty in four main areas:

  1. Institutional balance and institutional cooperation;
  2. Fundamental rights and EU citizenship;
  3. The new EU framework for confronting global economic challenges;
  4. The EU as an international political and security actor.


Commission Vice-President for Inter-institutional relations and administration Maroš Šefčovič and Trade Commissioner Karel De Gucht also addressed the conference, as well as several Members of the European Parliament.

To know more

Last update: 13/06/2012 |  Top