Navigation path

Eastern Partnership Summit

The third Eastern Partnership Summit that took place on 29 November brought together heads of state and government from the 28 EU member states with those of the Eastern Partner countries: Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Moldova and Ukraine.

In the context of this Summit, the EU has initialled Association Agreements (including a Deep and Comprehensive Free Trade Area) with Georgia and with the Republic of Moldova; signed a Visa Facilitation Agreement with Azerbaijan; signed a framework agreement with Georgia on participation in EU Crisis management operations; and initialled a civil aviation agreement with Ukraine.

President Barroso's remarks at the Plenary Session of the 3rd Eastern Partnership Summit, his opening remarks at initialling ceremony of the Association Agreements with Georgia and Moldova, as well as his statement at the press conference together with President Van Rompuy and the President of Lithuania Dalia Grybauskaite  are available online.

28 November 2013

Today, President Barroso will travel to Vilnius for the third Eastern Partnership Summit. 

The Eastern Partnership Summit will begin on Thursday 28 November with a summit meeting and an informal working dinner. President Barroso and President Van Rompuy will also hold a separate trilateral meeting with Viktor Yanukovych, the President of Ukraine, ahead of the dinner.

Press release: Third Eastern Partnership summit, Vilnius 28-29 November 2013

Factsheet on the summit

Summary of the signing ceremony