Navigation path

Nobel Peace Prize Ceremony

© EU

On Monday 10 December at 13.00, the European Union will receive the 2012 Nobel Peace Prize for its contribution to the advancement of peace and reconciliation, democracy and human rights in Europe.

Like all winners, the EU will receive the prize from the chairman of the Norwegian Nobel Committee, which had announced its award decision on 12 October. The EU will be represented by the three Presidents - José Manuel Barroso of the Commission, Herman Van Rompuy of the European Council, and Martin Schulz of the European Parliament.

The traditional Nobel lecture, on behalf of the EU, will be given by Presidents Barroso and Van Rompuy. Four young Europeans, winners of the online contest organised by the EU, will be joining the EU delegation in Oslo to collect the prize.

The ceremony will be broadcast live on this website and on Europe by Satellite.

For more information, including full programme of the 2012 Nobel Peace Prize celebrations, please see the online press pack and the inter-institutional website on the Nobel Peace Prize.

Full background information on the EU's award

Statement by President Barroso following the announcement on 12 October