This site has been archived on 19/11/14

Navigation path

And the nominees are…

The Lorenzo Natali Prize for Journalism recognises Europe’s conviction that freedom of expression, democracy, human rights and development are inextricably linked.

In too many parts of the world press freedom is still undermined or violated. Indeed, every day, thousands of reporters put their lives in danger to report on conflicts, humanitarian disasters or simply to tell human stories that we often take for granted.

Through this Prize, the European Commission aims to recognise and reward journalists reporting in often challenging circumstances, celebrating the ways in which journalism can be a seed of positive change, the inspiration for development, and the engine for democracy and human rights.

We received entries from over 1 300 journalists and there was strong competition in all Prize categories. We are happy to announce today that the following (in alphabetical order) have been nominated for Prizes:

  • Açıkgöz, Esra - Turkey
  • Adams, Lucy - UK
  • Anas, Anas Aremeyaw - Ghana
  • Arcenillas, Javier - Spain
  • Barwari, Dlovan - Iraq
  • Bellone, Florence - Belgium
  • Bu Hejji, Hana - Bahrain
  • Cuevas, María Paz - Chile
  • Dixit, Neha - India
  • Farber, Tanya – South Africa
  • Heinemann, Tom - Denmark
  • Loore, Frédéric – Belgium
  • Martinez, Sanjuana - Mexico
  • Naqvi, Muneeza - India
  • Neves, Maria Laura - Brazil
  • Nzouankeu, Anne - Cameroon
  • Tan, Xiao-M - China


The winners in each category will be announced at the Awards Ceremony on Thursday, 8 December, in Brussels. Commissioner Piebalgs will be a host of the ceremony and hand the prizes to winners. Paul Rusesabagina, the real life hero of the acclaimed film Hotel Rwanda, will be a special guest at the Award Ceremony.

If you would like to attend the Award Ceremony, follow this link -

Congratulations to all the nominees!

Last update: 20/11/2014 |  Top