What's new ?

RSS feedRSS feed

Commissioner Georgieva wins Commissioner of the year and European of the Year awards

Commissioner Georgieva wins Commissioner of the Year and European of the Year awards
30/11/2010  - 

The Commissioner of International Cooperation Humanitarian Aid and Crisis Response, Kristalina Georgieva, was honoured yesterday evening when named as the 2010 European of the Year and Commissioner of the Year at European Voice's annual awards ceremony. She was selected by popular vote by the readers of the Brussels-based European Voice newspaper, and the awards were delivered at the end of a gala dinner that took place at the glamorous Stock Exchange of the European capital. Other awards were granted to European Central Bank President Jean-Claude Trichet (EU Official of the Year); to British Conservative and Liberal leaders David Cameron and Nick Clegg (ex-aequo, National Politician of the Year); to Jeanine Hennis-Plaaschaert (MEP of the Year), and last but not least to Spain's national football team (Inspiration of the Year). The prestigious "Europeans of the Year" awards were established in 2001 to honour influential European citizens who have led the European political and news agenda in the previous 12 months. Every year a panel of advisors from the EU selects 50 candidates, including European Commissioners, MEPs, Heads of State, politicians, EU officials, NGOs, campaigners and European citizens.