This site has been archived on (2014/11/01)
Máire Geoghegan-Quinn, European Commissioner for Research, Innovation and Science


'Irish journalist nominated for 2011 European Parliament Journalism Prize for interview with Commissioner Geoghegan-Quinn


Two Irish journalists have been selected as the Irish nominees for this year's European Parliament Journalism Prize. 355 journalists submitted applications across the EU's 27 Member States and in October of this year, the prize, now in its fourth year, will be awarded to four journalists in the categories of print journalism, radio, TV and internet.


This year's Irish nominees are Jamie Smyth, Social Affairs Correspondent with The Irish Times for his article on 'Ireland's sham marriage scam' and Ellen Gunning of Dublin City FM, for her interview with European Commissioner Máire Geoghegan Quinn, as part of her series, The EU and You. Both entries were chosen by the Irish jury because of the manner in which they promoted a better understanding of an EU issue, institution or policy area.


Ireland's nominee for the Radio prize - Ellen Gunning - The jury chose the radio programme submitted by Ellen Gunning of Dublin City FM, as it introduced a complex subject and succeeded in communicating the relevance of the work of European Commissioner Máire Geoghegan Quinn for the programme's audience. The questions put by Ellen and the Commissioner's responses ensured the successful portrayal of the work of the European Commission in a policy area not immediately within our daily grasp.


Ellen Gunning's programme can be accessed here


Francis Jacobs, Head of the European Parliament Office in Ireland, said that 'the standard of journalism demonstrated by both of the Irish nominees this year is encouraging. Both journalists ensure that their respective audiences emerge with a better understanding of an EU issue or policy area.'


The Award Ceremony - During a ceremony in Brussels in October of this year, the President of the European Parliament, Jerzy Buzek MEP, will award €5000 to the overall winner in each category (TV, radio, print and online). The winning entries will be chosen on the basis that they have made an outstanding contribution to creating a better understanding of the EU or a relevant issue.


The Jury - Members of the Irish Jury included Tim Ryan of the Association of European Journalists in Ireland and freelance journalist Jessie Magee.