Navigation path

 

Corruption is a serious challenge for all societies and it takes many forms, such as bribery, trading in influence, abuse of functions, but can also hide behind nepotism, conflicts of interest, or revolving doors between the public and the private sectors. The aim of this survey is to understand EU businesses' attitudes towards corruption in the EU and compares them with the previous poll carried out in 2015.

 

Corruption is a serious challenge for all societies and it takes many forms, such as bribery, trading in influence, abuse of functions, but can also hide behind nepotism, conflicts of interest, or revolving doors between the public and the private sectors. The aim of this survey is to understand EU citizens' awareness, experience and perceptions of corruption and compares them with the previous poll on corruption carried out in 2013.

 

This survey assesses the attitudes and opinions of people in the EU on cultural heritage. It is the first EU-wide survey to be conducted on this topic. It investigates people's personal involvement with cultural heritage and the perceived importance and values they attach to Europe’s cultural heritage. It also looks into the perceptions of the impact of cultural heritage on tourism and jobs, and responsibilities when it comes to protecting heritage in Europe. You can download a report analysing results for the whole of the EU, as well as factsheets summarising the results for each of the 28 EU Member States.

 

For this survey carried out on 16- 18 October 2017, some 17 500 respondents across the 19 euro area countries were interviewed by phone. Compared with last year, the results show a strong improvement of support for the euro. A euro area majority of 64% thinks that having the euro is a good thing for their country. This is the highest proportion since the start of the survey in 2002, and up significantly from 56% in 2016. It is the view of the majority of respondents in 16 euro area countries. There are nevertheless some important differences between the 19 countries. The highest increase in support compared with the 2016 results was noted in Germany with a raise of 12 percentage points to 76%, followed by France with a raise of 11 points to 64%. Highest support for the euro remains to be in Ireland at 85%. On the other hand, continued strongest decrease was noted in Lithuania by 6 percentage points to now 36%. A euro area majority of 74% sees the euro as good for the EU as a whole, an increase by seven percentage points compared to 2016. Asked about economic policy coordination in the euro area, an unchanged overall majority of 67% thinks there should be more coordination while 7% think there should be less of it. An increase by two percentage points to 64% was noted in overall support for abolishing 1-cent and 2-cent coins combined with mandatory rounding of the final sum of purchases. However, relative majorities in Latvia (49%) and Portugal (46%) are against this proposal. Citizens replied to a set of questions focusing on issues ranging from perception and practical aspects of the euro to their assessment of the economic situation, policy and reforms in their country and in the euro area. In addition, citizens were asked about their views and expectations regarding household income and inflation.

 

The "Future of Europe" survey was carried out between 23 September and 2 October 2017 in the 28 EU Member States. It is part of a series of reports initiated in 2006. The "Future of Europe – Social issues" report presents a snapshot of the way Europeans perceived the EU and its future direction in 2017. The report focuses on the results of the survey on social issues related to the future of Europe.

 

This report presents the results of the Special Eurobarometer public opinion survey on the environment carried out in the 28 European Union Member States. The survey covers the following issues: - General attitudes towards the environment and sources of information; - The impact of environmental issues, and the impact of plastic products and chemicals; - Ways of taking action to tackle environmental issues; - The role of the EU in environmental protection; - Awareness of and attitudes towards ecolabels; - Perceptions of air quality and ways of tackling air pollution.

 

The European Union has worked for 10 years to eliminate extra roaming charges within the Union and on June 15, 2017 the EU achieved this objective. This Flash survey measures awareness about the abolition of roaming charges, and the impact this has had on citizens’ mobile use when travelling in the EU.

 

The aim of this survey is to understand EU citizens’ awareness, experiences and perceptions of cyber security issues. Respondents were asked about many specific issues related to cyber security, for example, how much they think cybersecurity is important for EU internal security, how concerned they are about being victims of cybercrime and how they would react in a variety of situations if they were victims of these particular forms of cybercrime.

 

Climate change is one of the biggest challenges facing the world. As the EU continues to act to meet its climate objectives, it is important to understand the views, expectations and behaviour of its citizens concerning climate change. This Eurobarometer survey measures these and compares them with the previous poll on climate change carried out in 2015.

 

The European Commission is publishing today the results of Special Eurobarometer 457 survey on coach services. The survey is based on fieldwork in the 28 EU Member States performed in March 2017. Across the EU, only a minority of respondents use coach services. Over six in ten respondents (64%) say that they never use coach services for domestic travel. Just over a third (35%) of respondents sometimes use coach services for domestic travel but more than half (18%) use them only once a year or less. Fewer than one in five (18%) travel by coach to other countries. The most commonly mentioned purpose for which coach services are used are visiting family or friends (34%), going on holiday (27%) or other leisure activities (24%). The Eurobarometer survey results has allowed for a better understanding of citizens use of and satisfaction with coach and bus services across the EU and of the reasons that prevent citizens from travelling by coach and bus.

 

Standard Eurobarometer 87 survey (EB87), was carried out between 20 and 30 May 2017 in 34 countries or territories: the 28 European Union (EU) Member States, five candidate countries (the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Turkey, Montenegro, Serbia and Albania) and the Turkish Cypriot Community in the part of the country that is not controlled by the government of the Republic of Cyprus. The survey includes topics such as the European political situation and the economy (perception of the current situation and expectations for the future). It analyses how Europeans perceive their political institutions, both national governments and parliaments, the EU and its institutions as well as their main concerns. It also examines people's attitudes on European citizenship and on issues linked to the priorities of the European Commission, notably free movement, the euro, migration and the stimulation of investment.

 

The "Future of Europe - Views from outside the EU" survey was carried out between 20 and 25 February 2017 in 11 non-EU countries: Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, India, Japan, Norway, Russia, Switzerland, Turkey and the United States of America. This is the first time that a Eurobarometer survey looks at the EU in a global way. 11,035 respondents were interviewed via telephone (mobile and fixed line), except in India were interviews were conducted face-to-face. Respondents were asked how they view the European Union, what they think its assets and values are, and how much political influence they think it has.

 

More than three quarters of EU citizens, 78%, see a positive impact of EU Regional investments in their city or region (up 3 percentage points (pp) from last survey of 2015). This is one of the key findings of Regional policy Eurobarometer 452, which was published today.

 

First results on key trend questions (EU 28)

 

This summary presents an overview of the results of the Eurobarometer survey on public opinion on chemicals in the 28 EU Member States. The aim of the survey is to understand EU citizens’ awareness and perceptions of chemical products. The survey includes comparisons (where appropriate) with similar surveys conducted in 2012 and 2010. The results are presented in more detail in the full report.

 

On 1 March 2017, the European Commission presented a White paper on the Future of Europe, setting out challenges and opportunities for Europe in the coming decade. This Special Eurobarometer survey focuses on EU citizens’ opinions about different topics linked to the White Paper.

 

The European Commission has published on the eve of World No Tobacco Day a Eurobarometer survey presenting European citizens' attitudes to a range of tobacco-related issues. The general aim of the survey is to assess the prevalence and pattern of tobacco and electronic cigarette use, exposure to smoke in public places, to explore the motivations for smoking, and to help identify measures to reduce the number of smokers in the EU. The recent results are compared to the previous surveys, showing stable use of e-cigarettes (2%) and no decrease in the overall smoking rate in the EU (26%) since 2014. Amongst people aged 15 to 24 the rate has increased from 25% in 2014 to 29% in 2017.

 

For this survey carried out in April 2017, some 7 000 respondents in the seven EU Member States that have yet to join the euro (Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Croatia, Hungary, Poland, Romania, Sweden) were interviewed by phone. Citizens from different social and demographic groups replied to a set of questions focusing on issues ranging from their perception of and support for the introduction of the euro in their country, to how well citizens felt informed about the common currency. Questions included how citizens saw the consequences for themselves, their country, and for those countries which already have adopted the euro. Other questions looked at how and where citizens wished to be informed and what type of information they considered most important. While 54% of respondents think that the introduction of the euro has had positive consequences in the countries that are already using the euro, the proportion of respondents who are in favour of introducing the euro in their country varies widely, from 64% in Romania to 29% in the Czech Republic. Respondents who feel informed about the euro are more likely to support its introduction (53% compared with 42% of those who do not feel informed). Socio-demographic analysis shows that men are more in favour of introducing the euro in their country, compared with women (54% vs 41%).

 

The European Commission has published a Eurobarometer survey presenting European citizens' opinions on the impact of digitisation and automation on daily life. European citizens see digitisation and automation primarily as an opportunity but call for investment for better and faster internet services as well as effective public policy to accompany changes, in particular in areas such as employment, privacy and personal health. The results also show that the more people are informed or use technologies the more they are likely to have a positive opinion on them and to trust them.

 

The European Union is playing a key role in the coordination across national borders of civil protection activities, with over 230 activations of the EU Civil Protection Mechanism since 2001. This survey looks at European citizens' attitudes towards EU civil protection and their awareness of the EU's coordination role in response to disasters. The opinion poll also shows the level of support among citizens for EU coordinated action in dealing with disasters in comparison with a national response. Respondents were also asked if enough was being done to prevent or prepare for disasters in their countries.

 

The European Union together with its Member States is the world's largest humanitarian aid donor. This survey looks at European citizens' attitudes towards EU humanitarian aid activities and their awareness of the EU's role. This opinion poll also shows the level of support among citizens for EU coordinated action in response to humanitarian crises. Respondents were also asked about attitudes to new policy initiatives such as the European Union Aid Volunteers programme and the provision of education to children in emergency situations.

 

The European Commission is publishing today the results of Special Eurobarometer 2016 survey on EU citizens' views on development, cooperation and aid. The survey is based on fieldwork in the 28 EU Member States performed in November-December 2016. The vast majority of EU citizens (89 %) think that it is "important to help people in developing countries", which is the same level as in 2015. The survey includes topics such as tackling poverty in developing countries as a moral obligation, the impact on EU citizens, the importance of personal commitment to development aid, what EU citizens perceive as the biggest challenges for development countries... The survey offers a view on how citizens perceive development and cooperation in every EU country as well as across the EU as a whole. Commissioner Mimica will announce the results today at the occasion of a development event in Italy. A media package, including country fact sheets in 23 EU languages, and one focused on young people, is available.

 

The survey was designed to explore the perceptions of judicial independence among companies across the EU Member States, particularly: - how companies rate the justice system in their country in terms of the independence of courts and judges; - the reasons why they rate the independence of the justice system the way they do. A total of 6,803 companies were interviewed via telephone (among businesses employing one or more persons) between 25 January and 3 February 2017, in the 28 Member States of the European Union.

 

The survey was designed to explore the perceptions of judicial independence among the general public across the EU Member States, particularly: - how the general public rate the justice system in their country in terms of the independence of courts and judges; - the reasons why they rate the independence of the justice system the way they do. Some 26,565 respondents from different social and demographic groups were interviewed via telephone, between 25 and 26 January 2017, in the 28 Member States of the European Union.

 

This report presents the results of a Flash Eurobarometer survey into attitudes of Romanian and Bulgarian citizens towards the state of the judicial system and corruption in their country. It also shows the perception of EU support in this area through the Cooperation and Verification Mechanism. In Bulgaria only, the report also addresses the subject of organised crime. Respondents are asked how important they consider these issues to be in their country, whether they feel the situation in their country has improved over the last ten years and whether the EU should continue to be involved in monitoring the situation. The survey also asks about the impact the EU has played so far and general awareness of the EU’s Cooperation and Verification Mechanism.

 

A new Eurobarometer survey on EU consumer choices reveals that people in the EU eat fish and seafood quite regularly, although how far people live from the sea has an impact on how often they eat fish. They mainly buy their fish and seafood at the supermarket, and they look first at its appearance, then at its price and origin. Although a majority likes wild marine products better, a large share of Europeans have no set preference between wild and farmed products. Europeans trust the content of labels, especially when the information provided is required by law. Discover the truth on these and other consumer choices, including some unsuspected shopping and eating habits, in the new public opinion survey on EU consumer habits regarding fishery and aquaculture products.

 

Standard Eurobarometer 86 survey (EB86), was carried out between 3 and 16 November 2016 in 34 countries or territories: the 28 European Union (EU) Member States, five candidate countries (the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Turkey, Montenegro, Serbia and Albania) and the Turkish Cypriot Community in the part of the country that is not controlled by the government of the Republic of Cyprus. The survey includes topics such as the European political situation and the economy (perception of the current situation and expectations for the future). It analyses how Europeans perceive their political institutions, both national governments and parliaments, the EU and its institutions as well as their main concerns. It also examines people's attitudes on European citizenship and on issues linked to the priorities of the European Commission, notably free movement, the euro, migration and the euro. The survey also addresses perceptions of the Erasmus programme and of the Treaty of Rome.

 

The "Future of Europe" survey was carried out between 24 September and 3 October 2016 in the 28 EU Member States. It is part of a series of reports initiated in 2006. The "Future of Europe" report presents a snapshot of the way Europeans perceived the EU and its future direction in 2016. It begins by considering the EU in today's world: EU’s main assets and challenges, the EU's values and the EU on the world scene. Then it tackles some aspects of political and social life in the EU and issues related to the future of Europe.

 

The review of the "ePrivacy" Directive is one of the key initiatives aimed at reinforcing trust and security in digital services in the EU. As part of this review, the European Commission’s Directorate-General for Communications Network, Content and Technology (DG CONNECT) commissioned this survey to assess the general opinions of citizens across the EU in relation to key issues that are part of online privacy, in particular privacy of communications, tracking over the Internet with cookies requiring permission/consent, unsolicited communications by e-mail or unwanted calls.

 

For this survey carried out on 17- 18 October 2016, some 17 500 respondents across the 19 euro area countries were interviewed by phone. The results show a downward return by five percentage points to the level of overall support for the euro in recent years. A euro area majority of 56% sees the euro as good for their own country. The highest increase in support compared with the 2015 results was noted in Ireland with a raise of six percentage points to 81%, followed by the Netherlands with a raise of four points. On the other hand, strongest decrease was noted in Lithuania by 13 percentage points to now 42%. A euro area majority of 67% sees the euro as good for the EU as a whole, a decrease by four percentage points compared to 2015. There are nevertheless some important differences between the 19 countries. Asked about economic policy coordination in the euro area, an overall majority of 67% thinks there should be more coordination while 10% think there should be less of it. An increase by three percentage points to 62% was noted in overall support for abolishing 1-cent and 2-cent coins combined with mandatory rounding of the final sum of purchases. However, majorities in Latvia (50%) and Portugal (48%) are not in favour of this proposal. Citizens replied to a set of questions focusing on issues ranging from perception and practical aspects of the euro to their assessment of the economic situation, policy and reforms in their country and in the euro area. In addition, citizens were asked about their views and expectations regarding household income and inflation.

 

This survey aims to assess the perceptions of EU citizens about gender-based violence. Among others, it explores the following topics: • Opinions about and attitudes towards gender-based violence; • Perceptions of the prevalence of domestic violence and sexual harassment; • Personal knowledge of a victim of domestic violence, and to whom people speak in the case of knowledge of domestic violence; • Whether a range of acts of gender-based violence are wrong and are, or should be, illegal.

 

Recently the European Commission issued a recommendation to develop new approaches to protect the rights of creditors, but also to assist businesses in financial difficulty. The current initiative follows up this recommendation. It introduces a new legislative proposal on restructuring, businesses' second chance and measures to increase the efficiency of restructuring, insolvency and discharge procedures. As well as conducting public consultations, Directorate General – Justice and Consumers commissioned this survey of businesses to explore issues pertaining to cross border debt.

 

Given the importance of Antimicrobial Resistance at European and global level, this survey seeks to monitor levels of knowledge about antibiotics in 16 countries in various regions outside the EU. Topics covered include: reported consumption in the last year, public knowledge about antibiotics, impact of information received from healthcare providers and media, perceptions of the most appropriate policy response to antibiotic resistance and attitudes towards the use of antibiotics in agriculture and the environment. Previous surveys on the same topic were published in 2010, 2013 and June 2016 (covering the 28 EU Member States).

 

In light of the importance of media plurality and freedom, the Directorate General for Justice and Consumers commissioned the following Eurobarometer survey to explore citizens’ opinions about the diversity of views available in the media, and their perceptions of media independence. The survey was carried out between 24 September and 3 October 2016 in the 28 Member States of the European Union. 27,768 EU citizens from different social and demographic categories were interviewed face-to-face at home and in their native language. The survey covers views about: the variety of opinions presented in the media; the perceptions of the independence of both the general and public service media; the trust in the information provided by the media; the awareness of the national media regulator and opinions about its independence; the participation in debates on social media; online encounters with hate speech and threats and the influence this has on participation.

 

Standard Eurobarometer 85 survey (EB85), was carried out between 21 and 31 May 2016 in 34 countries or territories: the 28 European Union (EU) Member States, five candidate countries (the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Turkey, Montenegro, Serbia and Albania) and the Turkish Cypriot Community in the part of the country that is not controlled by the government of the Republic of Cyprus. The survey includes topics such as the European political situation, Europeans' main concerns and the perception of the economic situation. It analyses how Europeans perceive their political institutions, both national governments and parliaments, the EU and its institutions. It also examines people's attitudes on European citizenship and on issues linked to the priorities of the European Commission, notably support to investment, the euro, free movement of people, trade and migration issues.

 

The Commission wants to improve how the single market for financial products and services works for consumers, small investors and businesses. This Eurobarometer looks mainly at whether financial services users switch provider and purchase in other Member States, and at what prevents them from doing so. Some of the questions were already asked in the Eurobarometer 373 conducted in 2011.

 

The Eurobarometer survey (EBS 443) on the public perception of illicit tobacco trade was the first of its kind. The results show that EU citizens are concerned about the need to protect the revenues of Member States and the EU from the smuggling of cigarettes. It also reveals EU citizens' clear view that the price is what attracts them to buy black market cigarettes yet the survey also suggests that knowledge about the link between organised crime and the illicit trade of tobacco is low. Finally, it reveals that the penetration of black market cigarettes is somewhat uneven in the EU with generally a higher penetration in Eastern Europe.

 

With more than 14.000 interviews, covering from micro-enterprises to large multinationals, the Innobarometer 2016 is one of the broadest surveys carried out in Europe to hear the voice of EU business. The survey was designed in particular to collect information about the innovation activities of companies, as well as about the progress towards industrial modernization. The results are a strong call for action on the modernisation of the EU industrial base. In fact, Innovation activities in EU businesses show signs of decline and at the same time the use of advanced manufacturing technologies in the EU industry is not making progress. On a more positive key, almost three in four companies plan to invest in innovation in the coming year. As a supporting measure, skills development is considered crucial by EU innovative companies.

 

This Eurobarometer survey was conducted before the entry into force of the new requirements to provide information about beneficiaries state aid awards. Europeans were asked about their awareness of state aid and the perceived ease of finding relevant information, as well as about their attitudes towards transparency of state aid. 27 818 EU citizens were interviewed in June 2016. While the results show different levels of awareness across Member States, in all EU countries, citizens feel not well-informed about state aid and consider it difficult to find information about the beneficiaries of aid. More than eight in ten consider that EU citizens should have full access to information about state aid given by public authorities to companies. Large majorities of Europeans see transparency as a means to make policy-makers accountable to citizens; as a good way to improve the management of public money, and as relevant for companies as for citizens. Europeans consider that the most effective way to improve transparency is to make the information published automatically when state aid is given.

 

As part of the EU strategy to fight antimicrobial resistance, this survey was carried out in April 2016 and tracks progress on public use of and knowledge about antibiotics in the 28 Member States. Topics covered include: reported consumption in the last year, public knowledge about antibiotics, impact of information received from healthcare providers and media, perceptions of the most appropriate policy response to antibiotic resistance and attitudes towards the use of antibiotics in agriculture and the environment. Previous surveys on the same topic were published in 2010 and 2013.

 

A 2016 Eurobarometer survey showed that a majority of respondents had either used or were aware of collaborative platforms. Almost one third of respondents who have used the services of collaborative platforms also provided a service on this kind of platform at least once. This signals that users are also likely to act as service providers. Users appreciated in particular that collaborative economy services are easily accessible and cheaper than traditional services and that products or services can be exchanged, rather than paid for. Three main drawbacks identified by respondents were lack of awareness of who is responsible in case a problem arises, lack of trust in Internet transactions generally and lack of trust in the provider/seller.

 

This Eurobarometer is published during the #EUGreen Week of 2016, Europe's biggest annual occasion to discuss environment policy. The survey shows that 73% of European SMEs have invested in the transition to a more circular model for their businesses over the past three years. More than a quarter (27%) said they had encountered difficulties in accessing financing in this area. Commissioner Vella said: "It is becoming more and more clear that a sound investment strategy means combining economic opportunity with sustainable environmental practice. Green Week sends a powerful signal to European companies, investors and the financial sector that a change of culture is both possible and profitable."

 

The Commission has released the results of a Eurobarometer survey to better understand the attitude of EU households and citizens towards new Internet-based communications services as compared to legacy telecom services, and to measure the related expectations and needs for consumer protection. The survey also measures the means of reception of TV broadcast services, the uptake of service packages and the awareness of 112, the Single European emergency call number. The fieldwork was conducted between 17 and 26 October 2015. It covers the 28 EU Member States, with a total of 27,822 respondents interviewed. It follows on from the previous Eurobarometer survey which was conducted in January 2014.