Navigation path

 

The European Union regularly surveys young people's participation in social and civic life, and their involvement in voluntary activities. This Eurobarometer survey, which entailed interviews with about 11,000 youngsters, also reports on their views on what should be the priorities for the EU.

 

This survey follows up on past Eurobarometer surveys (FL342 in 2012, FL381 in 2013 and FL426 in 2015) in reviewing the current levels of resource efficiency actions and the state of the green market amongst Europe’s SMEs, as well as in neighbouring countries and in the US. Topics covered include current and planned resource efficiency actions, barriers when implementing resource efficiency actions, the role and impact of different types of external support used by SMEs for the production of green products or services and the current state of the green markets. This Eurobarometer clearly shows that: • Just under two thirds of SMEs across the EU are minimising waste (65%) and saving energy (63%) in their efforts to become more resource efficient • Regarding circular economy actions, 42% recycle by reusing material or waste within their company, 25% design products that are easier to maintain, repair or reuse and 21% sell their scrap material to another company

 

Standard Eurobarometer 88 survey (EB87), was carried out between 5 and 19 November 2017 in 34 countries or territories: the 28 European Union (EU) Member States, five candidate countries (the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Turkey, Montenegro, Serbia and Albania) and the Turkish Cypriot Community in the part of the country that is not controlled by the government of the Republic of Cyprus. The survey includes topics such as the European political situation and the economy (perception of the current situation and expectations for the future). It analyses how Europeans perceive their political institutions, both national governments and parliaments, the EU and its institutions as well as their main concerns. It also examines people's attitudes on European citizenship and on issues linked to the priorities of the European Commission, notably free movement, the euro and migration.

 

The "Future of Europe" survey was carried out between 23 September and 2 October 2017 in the 28 EU Member States. It is part of a series of reports initiated in 2006. The "Future of Europe" report considers the EU in today's world: EU’s main assets and challenges, the EU's values and the EU in the world economy. Then it tackles some aspects of political and social life in the EU and issues related to the future of Europe. A first report from this survey on social issues was published in November 2017 in parallel with the Social summit for fair jobs and growth in Gothenburg.

 

The Special Eurobarometer survey on EU citizens' attitudes towards security brings together the results regarding security issues. The survey explores the issue of security by looking at a whole host of areas: overall perceptions of security and threats, perceptions of the actions taken by the police and other law enforcement authorities to combat those threats, and their attitudes toward national and international cooperation in dealing with the various security challenges faced by the Member States of the EU.

 

Corruption is a serious challenge for all societies and it takes many forms, such as bribery, trading in influence, abuse of functions, but can also hide behind nepotism, conflicts of interest, or revolving doors between the public and the private sectors. The aim of this survey is to understand EU businesses' attitudes towards corruption in the EU and compares them with the previous poll carried out in 2015.

 

Corruption is a serious challenge for all societies and it takes many forms, such as bribery, trading in influence, abuse of functions, but can also hide behind nepotism, conflicts of interest, or revolving doors between the public and the private sectors. The aim of this survey is to understand EU citizens' awareness, experience and perceptions of corruption and compares them with the previous poll on corruption carried out in 2013.

 

This survey assesses the attitudes and opinions of people in the EU on cultural heritage. It is the first EU-wide survey to be conducted on this topic. It investigates people's personal involvement with cultural heritage and the perceived importance and values they attach to Europe’s cultural heritage. It also looks into the perceptions of the impact of cultural heritage on tourism and jobs, and responsibilities when it comes to protecting heritage in Europe. You can download a report analysing results for the whole of the EU, as well as factsheets summarising the results for each of the 28 EU Member States.

 

For this survey carried out on 16- 18 October 2017, some 17 500 respondents across the 19 euro area countries were interviewed by phone. Compared with last year, the results show a strong improvement of support for the euro. A euro area majority of 64% thinks that having the euro is a good thing for their country. This is the highest proportion since the start of the survey in 2002, and up significantly from 56% in 2016. It is the view of the majority of respondents in 16 euro area countries. There are nevertheless some important differences between the 19 countries. The highest increase in support compared with the 2016 results was noted in Germany with a raise of 12 percentage points to 76%, followed by France with a raise of 11 points to 64%. Highest support for the euro remains to be in Ireland at 85%. On the other hand, continued strongest decrease was noted in Lithuania by 6 percentage points to now 36%. A euro area majority of 74% sees the euro as good for the EU as a whole, an increase by seven percentage points compared to 2016. Asked about economic policy coordination in the euro area, an unchanged overall majority of 67% thinks there should be more coordination while 7% think there should be less of it. An increase by two percentage points to 64% was noted in overall support for abolishing 1-cent and 2-cent coins combined with mandatory rounding of the final sum of purchases. However, relative majorities in Latvia (49%) and Portugal (46%) are against this proposal. Citizens replied to a set of questions focusing on issues ranging from perception and practical aspects of the euro to their assessment of the economic situation, policy and reforms in their country and in the euro area. In addition, citizens were asked about their views and expectations regarding household income and inflation.

 

The "Future of Europe" survey was carried out between 23 September and 2 October 2017 in the 28 EU Member States. It is part of a series of reports initiated in 2006. The "Future of Europe – Social issues" report presents a snapshot of the way Europeans perceived the EU and its future direction in 2017. The report focuses on the results of the survey on social issues related to the future of Europe.

 

This report presents the results of the Special Eurobarometer public opinion survey on the environment carried out in the 28 European Union Member States. The survey covers the following issues: - General attitudes towards the environment and sources of information; - The impact of environmental issues, and the impact of plastic products and chemicals; - Ways of taking action to tackle environmental issues; - The role of the EU in environmental protection; - Awareness of and attitudes towards ecolabels; - Perceptions of air quality and ways of tackling air pollution.

 

The European Union has worked for 10 years to eliminate extra roaming charges within the Union and on June 15, 2017 the EU achieved this objective. This Flash survey measures awareness about the abolition of roaming charges, and the impact this has had on citizens’ mobile use when travelling in the EU.

 

The aim of this survey is to understand EU citizens’ awareness, experiences and perceptions of cyber security issues. Respondents were asked about many specific issues related to cyber security, for example, how much they think cybersecurity is important for EU internal security, how concerned they are about being victims of cybercrime and how they would react in a variety of situations if they were victims of these particular forms of cybercrime.

 

Climate change is one of the biggest challenges facing the world. As the EU continues to act to meet its climate objectives, it is important to understand the views, expectations and behaviour of its citizens concerning climate change. This Eurobarometer survey measures these and compares them with the previous poll on climate change carried out in 2015.

 

The European Commission is publishing today the results of Special Eurobarometer 457 survey on coach services. The survey is based on fieldwork in the 28 EU Member States performed in March 2017. Across the EU, only a minority of respondents use coach services. Over six in ten respondents (64%) say that they never use coach services for domestic travel. Just over a third (35%) of respondents sometimes use coach services for domestic travel but more than half (18%) use them only once a year or less. Fewer than one in five (18%) travel by coach to other countries. The most commonly mentioned purpose for which coach services are used are visiting family or friends (34%), going on holiday (27%) or other leisure activities (24%). The Eurobarometer survey results has allowed for a better understanding of citizens use of and satisfaction with coach and bus services across the EU and of the reasons that prevent citizens from travelling by coach and bus.

 

Standard Eurobarometer 87 survey (EB87), was carried out between 20 and 30 May 2017 in 34 countries or territories: the 28 European Union (EU) Member States, five candidate countries (the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Turkey, Montenegro, Serbia and Albania) and the Turkish Cypriot Community in the part of the country that is not controlled by the government of the Republic of Cyprus. The survey includes topics such as the European political situation and the economy (perception of the current situation and expectations for the future). It analyses how Europeans perceive their political institutions, both national governments and parliaments, the EU and its institutions as well as their main concerns. It also examines people's attitudes on European citizenship and on issues linked to the priorities of the European Commission, notably free movement, the euro, migration and the stimulation of investment.

 

The "Future of Europe - Views from outside the EU" survey was carried out between 20 and 25 February 2017 in 11 non-EU countries: Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, India, Japan, Norway, Russia, Switzerland, Turkey and the United States of America. This is the first time that a Eurobarometer survey looks at the EU in a global way. 11,035 respondents were interviewed via telephone (mobile and fixed line), except in India were interviews were conducted face-to-face. Respondents were asked how they view the European Union, what they think its assets and values are, and how much political influence they think it has.

 

More than three quarters of EU citizens, 78%, see a positive impact of EU Regional investments in their city or region (up 3 percentage points (pp) from last survey of 2015). This is one of the key findings of Regional policy Eurobarometer 452, which was published today.

 

First results on key trend questions (EU 28)

 

This summary presents an overview of the results of the Eurobarometer survey on public opinion on chemicals in the 28 EU Member States. The aim of the survey is to understand EU citizens’ awareness and perceptions of chemical products. The survey includes comparisons (where appropriate) with similar surveys conducted in 2012 and 2010. The results are presented in more detail in the full report.

 

On 1 March 2017, the European Commission presented a White paper on the Future of Europe, setting out challenges and opportunities for Europe in the coming decade. This Special Eurobarometer survey focuses on EU citizens’ opinions about different topics linked to the White Paper.

 

The European Commission has published on the eve of World No Tobacco Day a Eurobarometer survey presenting European citizens' attitudes to a range of tobacco-related issues. The general aim of the survey is to assess the prevalence and pattern of tobacco and electronic cigarette use, exposure to smoke in public places, to explore the motivations for smoking, and to help identify measures to reduce the number of smokers in the EU. The recent results are compared to the previous surveys, showing stable use of e-cigarettes (2%) and no decrease in the overall smoking rate in the EU (26%) since 2014. Amongst people aged 15 to 24 the rate has increased from 25% in 2014 to 29% in 2017.

 

For this survey carried out in April 2017, some 7 000 respondents in the seven EU Member States that have yet to join the euro (Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Croatia, Hungary, Poland, Romania, Sweden) were interviewed by phone. Citizens from different social and demographic groups replied to a set of questions focusing on issues ranging from their perception of and support for the introduction of the euro in their country, to how well citizens felt informed about the common currency. Questions included how citizens saw the consequences for themselves, their country, and for those countries which already have adopted the euro. Other questions looked at how and where citizens wished to be informed and what type of information they considered most important. While 54% of respondents think that the introduction of the euro has had positive consequences in the countries that are already using the euro, the proportion of respondents who are in favour of introducing the euro in their country varies widely, from 64% in Romania to 29% in the Czech Republic. Respondents who feel informed about the euro are more likely to support its introduction (53% compared with 42% of those who do not feel informed). Socio-demographic analysis shows that men are more in favour of introducing the euro in their country, compared with women (54% vs 41%).

 

The European Commission has published a Eurobarometer survey presenting European citizens' opinions on the impact of digitisation and automation on daily life. European citizens see digitisation and automation primarily as an opportunity but call for investment for better and faster internet services as well as effective public policy to accompany changes, in particular in areas such as employment, privacy and personal health. The results also show that the more people are informed or use technologies the more they are likely to have a positive opinion on them and to trust them.

 

The European Union is playing a key role in the coordination across national borders of civil protection activities, with over 230 activations of the EU Civil Protection Mechanism since 2001. This survey looks at European citizens' attitudes towards EU civil protection and their awareness of the EU's coordination role in response to disasters. The opinion poll also shows the level of support among citizens for EU coordinated action in dealing with disasters in comparison with a national response. Respondents were also asked if enough was being done to prevent or prepare for disasters in their countries.

 

The European Union together with its Member States is the world's largest humanitarian aid donor. This survey looks at European citizens' attitudes towards EU humanitarian aid activities and their awareness of the EU's role. This opinion poll also shows the level of support among citizens for EU coordinated action in response to humanitarian crises. Respondents were also asked about attitudes to new policy initiatives such as the European Union Aid Volunteers programme and the provision of education to children in emergency situations.

 

The European Commission is publishing today the results of Special Eurobarometer 2016 survey on EU citizens' views on development, cooperation and aid. The survey is based on fieldwork in the 28 EU Member States performed in November-December 2016. The vast majority of EU citizens (89 %) think that it is "important to help people in developing countries", which is the same level as in 2015. The survey includes topics such as tackling poverty in developing countries as a moral obligation, the impact on EU citizens, the importance of personal commitment to development aid, what EU citizens perceive as the biggest challenges for development countries... The survey offers a view on how citizens perceive development and cooperation in every EU country as well as across the EU as a whole. Commissioner Mimica will announce the results today at the occasion of a development event in Italy. A media package, including country fact sheets in 23 EU languages, and one focused on young people, is available.

 

The survey was designed to explore the perceptions of judicial independence among companies across the EU Member States, particularly: - how companies rate the justice system in their country in terms of the independence of courts and judges; - the reasons why they rate the independence of the justice system the way they do. A total of 6,803 companies were interviewed via telephone (among businesses employing one or more persons) between 25 January and 3 February 2017, in the 28 Member States of the European Union.

 

The survey was designed to explore the perceptions of judicial independence among the general public across the EU Member States, particularly: - how the general public rate the justice system in their country in terms of the independence of courts and judges; - the reasons why they rate the independence of the justice system the way they do. Some 26,565 respondents from different social and demographic groups were interviewed via telephone, between 25 and 26 January 2017, in the 28 Member States of the European Union.

 

This report presents the results of a Flash Eurobarometer survey into attitudes of Romanian and Bulgarian citizens towards the state of the judicial system and corruption in their country. It also shows the perception of EU support in this area through the Cooperation and Verification Mechanism. In Bulgaria only, the report also addresses the subject of organised crime. Respondents are asked how important they consider these issues to be in their country, whether they feel the situation in their country has improved over the last ten years and whether the EU should continue to be involved in monitoring the situation. The survey also asks about the impact the EU has played so far and general awareness of the EU’s Cooperation and Verification Mechanism.

 

A new Eurobarometer survey on EU consumer choices reveals that people in the EU eat fish and seafood quite regularly, although how far people live from the sea has an impact on how often they eat fish. They mainly buy their fish and seafood at the supermarket, and they look first at its appearance, then at its price and origin. Although a majority likes wild marine products better, a large share of Europeans have no set preference between wild and farmed products. Europeans trust the content of labels, especially when the information provided is required by law. Discover the truth on these and other consumer choices, including some unsuspected shopping and eating habits, in the new public opinion survey on EU consumer habits regarding fishery and aquaculture products.