Navigation path

Additional tools

  • Print version 
  • Decrease text 
  • Increase text 


India is party to the Kyoto Protocol but as a developing country does not currently have binding emission reduction commitments. It is a member of the Gleneagles Dialogue, established during the 2005 UK Presidency of the G8 in order to bring together the G8 and the rapidly developing countries/key emitters as well as the G8+5 configuration, also brought into being by the UK Presidency of the G8.


India is also a member of the Asia-Pacific Partnership (AP6). It is the fourth largest emitter of greenhouse gases in the world and is a key player in the global carbon market via the Kyoto Protocol's Clean Development Mechanism (CDM).

The EU-India Summit in 2008 agreed a Joint Work Programme on Energy, Clean Development and Climate Change, which outlines activities in the energy, environment and research areas.