Page navigation

Additional tools

  • Print version
  • Decrease text
  • Increase text

Final Report Press Review

 
  • 19.01.2017 EU budget will have to change - Le Monde
    In an analysis, Le Monde reports on the challenges facing the EU budget, which will soon be at the heart of the UK-EU negotiations. The Brexit will create an annual deficit of €10 billion, which represents a "difficult bargain" among the 27, according to a study by the Jacques Delors Institute, published on 16 January. The EU will also have to address financing additional defence and its migratory policy. On 12 January, former Italian Prime Minister Mario Monti and experts of the European Commission, Parliament, and Council released a report calling for the EU to increase common taxes through a dozen new resources, including a Financial Transaction Tax, a new tax on emissions of carbon dioxide or diesel, and a tax on multinationals’ profit. These measures would end the constant struggle between Brussels and member states. The Monti report also recommends abandoning reasoning based on member states’ net contribution to the EU budget.
  • 19.01.2017 Monti group voices its opinion on the EU budget and calls to abolish all rebates - Soir Europe
    Soir Europe discusses the reform of the European budget, as the EU needs to have its own financial resources, according to a report made public yesterday by the Monti group. The current European budgetary system needs to be more transparent, simple, fair and democratically accountable. The contributions by the EU member states now represent about two thirds of the EU budget. The current system pushes the EU member states to consider their contribution as either a net cost or a net benefit, regardless of the return on investment. The Monti group states that Brexit gives a unique window of opportunity to review how we measure the real costs and benefits of the EU and calls to abolish all rebates. The aim is not to increase the citizens' tax burden.
  • 19.01.2017 The end of the absurd "return rate"? - Tribune Hebdomadaire
    Tribune Hebdomadaire In her column for La Tribune Hebdomadaire, Brussels correspondent Florence Autret discusses the “Monti group” proposal to create a pan-European tax in order to replace the financing of the European budget by member states, which would facilitate budgetary negotiations. MEP Alain Lamassoure (EPP), who is part of the Monti group, explains that this would stop ministers from only worrying about how to recover their expenditure. The proposal is part of a wider set of proposals to overhaul the European budget. Today, 80% of the European budget comes from national contributions, which leads to a division of countries between “net contributors” and “net beneficiaries”. The proposal would prevent this, and allow the European Parliament to decide the best way raise a European tax. Although the proposal is still far from being implemented, Budget Commissioner Oettinger has already announced he will make proposals in that way, Florence Autret concludes in a positive tone.
    Tribune Hebdomadaire , Page: 1-21 , 19 Jan 2017
  • 18.01.2017 Experts call to reform the European budget - STA
    A group of experts led by the former Italian Prime Minister and former Commissioner Mario Monti yesterday called for a reform of the revenue and expenditure side of the EU budget, writes STA. The group believes that new own resources need to be provided. Possible new resources could come from different environmental or energy taxes and a tax on the financial sector.
  • 18.01.2017 Mr Oettinger plans reform for EU budget - Süddeutsche Zeitung
    European Commissioner Günther Oettinger intends to increase the EU's budget on its own, which he has already discussed with other European Commissioners, the author of a news report in Süddeutsche Zeitung writes. According to a report presented by the former Italian Prime Minister Monti, the EU could generate more money with the trade of emission rights, a possible financial transaction tax, taxes on CO2-emission and amendments with regards to the value added tax. Mr Oettinger will present a corresponding draft law to Chancellor Merkel and Federal Minister of Finance Wolfgang Schäuble, the author concludes.
    Mister Budget Süddeutsche Zeitung , Page: 16 , 18 Jan 2017
  • 17.01.2017 Brussels plot to ABOLISH budget rebates: Did Britain get out of the EU just in time? - Express
    The EU is set to abolish budget rebates after Brexit A landmark report on the future of the EU budget, which has been three years in the making, has recommended outlawing any discount on membership fees for member states just months after the UK decided to leave.
  • 16.01.2017 EU needs new budget to face security woes in Trump era - Monti - The Star
    The migration and security challenges faced by the European Union need to be addressed with a different funding system which would give the EU a direct share of national tax revenues, former Italian Prime Minister Mario Monti said.
  • 16.01.2017 Mario Monti: EU needs new budget to face security woes in Trump era - Focus Monitoring
    The migration and security challenges faced by the European Union need to be addressed with a different funding system which would give the EU a direct share of national tax revenues, former Italian Prime Minister Mario Monti said, Reuters announced.
  • 16.01.2017 EU should raise own taxes, says report - euobserver
    The Monti group's members, appointed by the EU commission, council and parliament, include EU commissioners Frans Timmermans and Pierre Moscovici, former budget commissioner Kristalina Georgieva and the liberal group leader in the European Parliament Guy Verhofstadt. Their report, which was presented to MEPs on 12 January and will be presented to the college of commissioners on Tuesday (17 January), notes that the current EU budget is flawed because of it relies too much on financial contributions sent directly by member States.
  • 16.01.2017 Cut the membership fee and allow the EU to take in taxes - Dagens Industri
    Tobias Wikström writes in an opinion piece in Dagens Industri that the European Union budget negotiations are about to start. A proposal claims that it would be more fair for the European Union to receive revenues from environment taxes instead of membership fees, and that Sweden should support the proposal. Membership fees are and have been subject to influences by heads of state. The forthcoming Brexit allows for levelling out differences and the EU should use the opportunity. Sweden should stay out of the discussion on who wins and who loses.
  • 16.01.2017 Expert group called for fundamental reform of EU budget - Lietuvos Rytas
    An expert group has called for a fundamental reform of the European Union (EU) budget, under which Brussels could impose profit and other taxes in order to better deal with crises. Proposals of the group, headed by former Italian Prime Minister Mario Monti, urge the EU to no longer confide in contributions of the member states to the budget and to try becoming more understandable to the average European. The report offers to introduce the EU profit, financial transactions and other financial activities taxes. The group also proposes to establish a carbon dioxide emissions, electricity and fuel tax. Since the 9th decade, the EU has been confiding in contributions of the EU member states, which account for 80% of the European budget, Lietuvos Rytas writes.
  • 16.01.2017 The EU is considering a complete overhaul of its finances, which could be precipitated by Brexit - Les Echos
    The high level group on own resources presented a report to the European Parliament last Thursday on the EU’s future financing. In concrete terms, the authors proposed considering new levies, for example on CO2, electricity, and financial transactions. Other options under consideration are charging member states a portion of their corporate tax or fuel tax revenues. This is a topic that makes governments shudder. But the notion that things could move forward is not to be ruled out either, says Les Echos. Not only because the insufficiencies of the current system have become obvious, but also thanks to Brexit. In stopping its payments to the EU, the UK will dig a hole that will have to be filled. This is a “window of opportunity” to start anew, reckon the authors of the report.
  • 14.01.2017 Brussels mulls over new taxes after Brexit - Trouw
    An article in Trouw looks into the possible taxation proposals which could be included in the report of former European Commissioner Mario Monti. His team, in which European Commission First Vice-President Frans Timmermans also took part, has worked on the report for two years and will present it at the end of January. Potential taxes could include a CO2 emission tax, electricity consumption tax, fossil fuel tax etc... They would come into force after the United Kingdom leaves the EU as part of the balancing of the Union's budget. Opposition is expected particularly from the Netherlands and Germany.
  • 13.01.2017 Kalfin: Brexit is an opportunity for the future EU budget - EurActiv
    The EU budget should be more transparent, so that other countries do not follow the example of the United Kingdom, says Ivaylo Kalfin, member of the Monti group in the Interview with EurActiv Brussels. The Brexit mountains but also the possibility of the British rebate.
  • 13.01.2017 EU Budget reform criticised by Germany - Il Corriere della Sera
    An article in corriere.it notes that Germany’s Finance Ministry harshly criticised the reform of the EU Budget the so-called high-level group on own resources is working on. The group is trying to identify what exactly creates European added value, so that more resources for the EU budget would come from there in the future. The group is led by former Commissioner and former Italian premier Mario Monti. Jens Spahn, the German Parliamentary State Secretary in the Federal Ministry of Finance, distanced himself from the measures included. He also called those measures too extreme for the EU and for member states to be accepted. In an interview with Il Sole 24 Ore, Mr Monti replied to Mr Spahn by stressing that the group’s goal is to present a proposal based on a structural reform of the EU Budget. It is crucial for the group to propose a more transparent and more flexible Budget, able to adapt to different situation without causing tension between the EU institutions and member states. Three of the EU main institutions (the European Commission, the European Parliament and the EU Council) backed the reform and this should help guarantee some balance among member states. Mr Monti also says he is confident Mr Spahn will eventually appreciate the proposal.
  • 12.01.2017 New Financing Report Pushes for E.U. Taxes - HandelsblattGolbal
    The European Union should attempt to fund the bloc with its own dedicated taxes rather than national contributions, according to a new report by former Commissioner Mario Monti, seen by Handelsblatt.
  • 11.01.2017 Lamassoure: Changing how EU is funded won't shift power to Brussels - EP Newsroom
    The EU should in the future have more possibilities to finance itself directly instead of being mostly funded by member states, according to a report to be presented to Parliament on Thursday 12 January. Such a system of own resources was already in place for decades in the past and should be readopted. Report co-author Alain Lamassoure spoke to us ahead of the presentation, pointing out that the proposals would not result in a power shift from national governments to Brussels.
  • 11.01.2017 Monti group challenges the ‘juste retour’ principle in EU budgeting - EurActiv
    The ‘Monti group’ will propose new ways of budgeting for the post-2020 period on Thursday (12 January), challenging the principle of ‘juste retour’, and looking at the opportunities of abandoning the UK rebate, according to a draft report seen by EurActiv.com.
  • 10.01.2017 EU spots opportunity in Brexit to fix funding wars - Politico
    The UK’s departure could be used to change the tone of the budgetary debate. That is the message of a blue-ribbon panel, chaired by former Italian Prime Minister Mario Monti, which will recommend new options to the European Commission and Parliament this week for raising revenue directly for Europe and diminishing the amount handed over to Brussels by national treasuries.