Accounting rate of the euro and conversion rate used for the calculation of, for instance, the reimbursement of medical expenditure, mission costs and subsistence costs, travelling time allowance and travel expenses of persons from outside called to meetings by the European Commission.

The Commission would point out that this document is strictly informative in nature and does not give the users any rights.

The rates indicated are the market rates for the penultimate day of the previous month quoted by the European Central Bank or, depending on availability, provided by the delegations or other appropriate sources close to that date.

The exchange rates are available in the form of downloadable files giving, each month, the rate of all the currencies quoted against the euro (or, until December 1998, against the ecu).

They are also accessible by country and by currency in the form of a list of the historic rates of the selected currency against the euro.

The rates are available in electronic format from 1 March 1994.

The euro is the currency of the following countries: Österreich (AT), België/Belgique (BE), Kýpros (CY), Deutschland (DE), Eesti (EE), Ellas (EL), España (ES), Suomi/Finland (FI), France (FR), Ireland (IE), Italia (IT), Luxembourg (LU), Latvia (LV), Lithuania (LT), Malta (MT), Nederland (NL), Portugal (PT), Slovenija (SI), Slovensko (SK).

The euro is also in use for Mayotte (YT), Saint Pierre and Miquelon (PM), French Southern Lands (TF), Principality of Monaco, Holy See (VA), San Marino (SM), Ceuta (XC), Melilla (XL), Andorra (AD), Republic of Montenegro (ME), Kosovo (XK, under UN Security Council 1244/99).