Navigation path

Login   |   Register

Advanced search Search in:    Audio    Photo    Video    Shotlist


Search video result(s)

Sort by
Ref: I-001966
Date: 20/03/1984
Brussels European Council, 19-20/03/1984
The first European Council of the year took place in Brussels under the French Presidency led by François Mitterrand, President of the French Republic. In spite of intensive preparations for the Council, it was not possible to reach an agreement on the issue of the "correction of the British contribution to the EC budget". However, progress was made on other points, subject to an overall agreement: - the confirmation of the agreement on the entire compromise package concerning CAP reform - the launch of a number of new policies and Mediterranean Integrated Programmes - the decision to initiate negotiations to enlarge the EC - mastering budgetary and financial discipline in EC countries - the maximum rate of mobilisation of VAT is set at 1.4%. Council participants: - François Mitterrand, President of the French Republic and President in office of the Council - Claude Cheysson, French Minister for External Relations - Roland Dumas, French Minister for European Affairs - Andreas Papandreou, Greek Prime Minister - Theodoros Pangalos, Greek Under-Secretary of State for Foreign Affairs - Helmut Kohl, German Federal Chancellor - Hans-Dietrich Genscher, German Federal Minister for Foreign Affairs - Poul Schlüter, Danish Prime Minister - Uffe Ellemann-Jensen, Danish Minister for Foreign Affairs - Wilfried Martens, Belgian Prime Minister - Léo Tindemans, Belgian Minister for External Relations - Ruud Lubbers, Dutch Prime Minister - Hans van den Broek, Dutch Minister for Foreign Affairs - Pierre Werner, Luxembourgish Prime Minister - Colette Flesch, Luxembourgish Minister for Foreign Affairs, External Trade and Cooperation - Bettino Craxi, Italian Prime Minister - Giulio Andreotti, Italian Minister for Foreign Affairs - Margaret Thatcher, British Prime Minister - Geoffrey Howe, British Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs - Garret FitzGerald, Irish Prime Minister - Peter Barry, Irish Minister for Foreign Affairs - Gaston Thorn, President of the CEC - François-Xavier Ortoli, Vice-President of the CEC in charge of Economic and Financial Affairs, Credit and Investments

Ref: I-000975
Date: 20/03/1984

You don't find what you are looking for? Ask us!

Go to useful links page Useful links

Go to rss page Go to EU Tube page Go to twitter page Go to facebook page Go to contact page

Credit © European Union, 2018