Navigation path

Login   |   Register

Advanced search Search in:    Audio    Photo    Video    Shotlist


Search video result(s)

Sort by
17 Results
 1  of  2 
Ref: I-062086
Date: 20/06/2009
Opening ceremony of the new Acropolis Museum, with the participation of José Manuel Barroso
José Manuel Barroso, President of the EC, took part in the opening ceremony of the new Acropolis Museum in Athens, on 20 June 2009.Greece's new Acropolis Museum was opened to the public on the next day, 21 June 2009. The new museum was constructed to exhibit the architectural finds and sculptures of the Acropolis. Karolos Papoulias, President of Greece, Kostas Karamanlis, Greek Prime Minister, Antonis Samaras, Greek Minister for Culture, and Dora Bakoyannis, Greek Minister for Foreign Affairs, welcomed foreign dignitaries. Speeches were given by Dimitris Pantermalis, President of the new Acropolis Museum, Koïchiro Matsuura, Director-General of Unesco, José Manuel Barroso, President of the EC, Kostas Karamanlis and Karolos Papoulias.One section of the museum has been set aside for the Elgin Marbles, which Greece has long sought to regain from Britain. Indeed, Greece opened its long-anticipated new Acropolis Museum, boosting its decades-old campaign for the return of 2,500-year-old sculptures removed from the ancient citadel by a 19th century British diplomat.From the top floor, the wall of windows allows visitors to look directly onto the Acropolis. During the day, a reflection of the Parthenon shimmers from the top floor windows. By night, the illuminated sculptures seem to glow from inside. It is located about 400 meters from the foot of the Acropolis hill in central Athens. The new structure is composed of three main levels and two intermediary levels. Its size covers about 23.000 square meters, with 14.000 square meters dedicated to the exhibition area. There are about 4.000 pieces of work exhibited.

Ref: I-073792
Date: 29/06/2012

Ref: I-008697
Date: 12/11/1985

Ref: I-002885
Date: 18/04/1994
Conseil "Affaires générales": arrivées, tour de table, conférence de presse et débat public
Le Conseil des ministres des CE s'est réuni sous la présidence de Karolos Papoulias, ministre grec des Affaires étrangères. Les différents sujets abordés étaient les suivants:- la situation en ex- Yougoslavie- les relations avec la Russie- les relations avec l'Ukraine- les relations avec les Etats baltes- le programme législatif pour 1994- les relations avec les Etats ACP- le statut et les conditions générales d'exercice du médiateur- les instruments de politique commercialeParticipants :- Willy Claes, ministre belge des Affaires étrangères- Niels Helveg Petersen, ministre danois des Affaires étrangères- Klaus Kinkel, ministre fédéral allemand des Affaires étrangères- Karolos Papoulias, ministre grec des Affaires étrangères- Javier Solana, ministre espagnol des affaires étrangères- Alain Juppé, ministre français des Affaires étrangères- Dick Spring, ministre irlandais des Affaires étrangères- Beniamino Andreatta, ministre italien des Affaires étrangères- Jacques Poos, ministre luxembourgeois des Affaires étrangères, du Commerce extérieur et de la Coopération- Pieter Hendrik Kooijmans, ministre néerlandais des Affaires étrangères- José Manuel Barroso, ministre portugais des Affaires étrangères- Douglas Hurd, ministre britannique des Affaires étrangères- Henning Christophersen, vice-président de la CE- Manuel Marín, vice-président de la CE chargé de la Coopération et du Développement (des Relations de coopération économique avec les pays de la Méditerranée du Sud, du Moyen-Orient, du Proche Orient, de l'Amérique latine et de l'Asie et de la Convention de Lomé) et de l'Office européen d'aide humanitaire d'urgence- sir Leon Brittan, membre de la CE chargé des Affaires économiques extérieures (Amérique du Nord, Japon, Chine, Communauté des Etats membres indépendants, Europe, y compris Europe centrale et orientale) et de la Politique commerciale- Hans van den Broek, membre de la CE chargé des Relations politiques extérieures, de la Politique extérieure et de sécurité commune (PESC) et des Négociations d'élargissement (task-force)

Ref: I-073893
Date: 03/07/2012

Ref: I-073899
Date: 03/07/2012

Ref: I-073394
Date: 02/07/2012

Ref: I-073791
Date: 29/06/2012

Ref: I-023808
Date: 25/03/1998

Ref: I-033450
Date: 15/12/1995
Madrid European Council, 15-16/12/1995: arrivals and round table
On 15 an 16 December 1995, the meeting of the European Council took place in Madrid. It was chaired by Felipe González Márquez, Spanish Prime Minister and President in office of the Council.The European Council took decisions on employment, the single currency, the IntergovernmentalConference and enlargement to bring in countries of Central and Eastern Europe and the Mediterranean. The European Council considered that job creation is the principal social, economic and political objective of the European Union and its Member States, and declared its firm resolve to continue to make every effort to reduce unemployment. The European Council adopted the scenario for the changeover to the single currency, confirming unequivocally that this stage would begin on 1 January 1999. The European Council decided to name the currency, to be used from 1 January 1999, the "Euro". The European Council continued its deliberation on the future of Europe, which was launched in Essen and continued in Cannes and Formentor. In this connection, having welcomed the Reflection Group's report, theEuropean Council decided to launch the Intergovernmental Conference on 29 March 1996 in order to establish the political and institutional conditions for adapting the European Union to present and future needs, particularly with a view to the next enlargement. This video shows the arrivals at the Municipal Convention Centre and photo opportunities, on the first day.

17 Results
 1  of  2 

You don't find what you are looking for? Ask us!

Go to useful links page Useful links

Go to rss page Go to EU Tube page Go to twitter page Go to facebook page Go to contact page

Credit © European Union, 2019