Award ceremony and welcome dinner for the finalists of the 5th EU Health Prize for Journalists with the participation of Tonio Borg

Type: Report   Référence: I088359   Durée: 19:07  Lieu: Brussels - EC/Berlaymont
On 8 April 2014, Tonio Borg, Member of the EC in charge of Health, announced the winners of the fifth EU Health Prize for Journalists. Out of more than 850 articles entered into the competition, 28 national finalists were chosen by juries in each EU country. Amidst the shortlist of 28 excellent articles, the winners are: First place: Henk Blanken writing for Dagblad van het Noorden (the Netherlands) for his article “Carel’s Head", a story which follows a young man suffering from Parkinson's disease from diagnosis to treatment, and gives a detailed and emotional account of the pioneering surgery he receives. Second place: Christiane Hawranek and Marco Maurer, writing for Die Zeit (Germany) for their sharp, ‘documentary-style’ article “The Patient Traffickers” which highlights dubious practices in non-regulated medical care across borders. Third place: Mette Dahlgaard writing for the Berlingske newspaper (Denmark) for “Am I Killing Someone?”, the story of a sperm donor who discovers that he carries the gene for a highly hereditary form of cancer, but hits a brick wall when he tries to find a way of warning potential children who could be affected.

Only the original language version is authentic and it prevails in the event of its differing from the translated versions.
PDF version

00:00:00 Speech by Tonio Borg, Member of the EC in charge of Health (in ENGLISH) saying that once again, journalists from across Europe have contributed to the public’s knowledge and understanding of important health issues. They have submitted many fascinating articles on subjects such as Alzheimer’s disease, the dangers of sugar, using robots to perform operations, rare diseases and euthanasia. The top three articles that the EU jury had the formidable job to select stood out for their intensity, originality and ability to mesmerise the reader 00:06:47
00:06:47 Call of every national finalist receiving a diploma from Tonio Borg 00:08:12
00:14:59 The 3rd place winner, Mette Dahlgaard, Berlingske newspaper (Denmark) journalist, receiving the award from Tonio Borg 00:00:57
00:15:56 The 2nd place winners, Christiane Hawranek and Marco Maurer, Die Zeit (Germany) journalists, receiving the award from Tonio Borg 00:00:31
00:16:27 The first place winner, Henk Blanken, Dagblad van het Noorden (the Netherlands) journalist, receiving the award from Tonio Borg 00:00:51
00:17:18 Short address by Henk Blanken, (in ENGLISH) 00:01:15
00:18:33 Group photo of Tonio Borg with the winners (4 shots) 00:00:45
Audiovisual Service
European Commission
Terms of use
© European Union, 2018