Extracts from the press conference by Štefan Füle, on the EC's adoption of the 2013 Enlargement Package (Iceland)

Type: Summary of press conference   Référence: I082731   Durée: 01:51  Lieu: Brussels - EC/Berlaymont
On 16 October 2013, Štefan Füle, Member of the EC in charge of Enlargement and European Neighbourhood Policy, gave a press conference where he said that the European Commission respects the decision taken by Iceland and is prepared to re-engage the negotiations at any time. The Icelandic government decided to put the accession negotiations on hold and indicated that the negotiations will not continue unless approved through a referendum. In light of this decision, the Commission decided to produce a short, purely factual report for Iceland, which is part of the 2013 Enlargement package adopted by the European Commission on 16 October 2013.

Only the original language version is authentic and it prevails in the event of its differing from the translated versions.
PDF version

00:00:00 Title 00:00:05
00:00:05 Exterior view of the Berlaymont building in Brussels 00:00:07
00:00:12 Soundbite by Štefan Füle, Member of the EC in charge of Enlargement and European Neighbourhood Policy (in ENGLISH): We respect the decision taken by Iceland; there is no doubt about it. As there is no doubt about us being prepared to re-engage at any time and if Iceland decides to build on that tremendous process we have achieved, the 27 chapters opened, the 11 provisionally closed. I think we were not that far from being able to present to the citizens of Iceland, a deal which will take into account the Icelandic specificities and at the same time, the European Union principles and the overall rules of the game. We have that capacity to do that. We think that it will be at the benefit of the citizens of Iceland, the benefit of EU. But whatever the decision of the citizens of Iceland will be, we are going to build on that experience and strengthen that relationship between the EU and Iceland. 00:01:39
Audiovisual Service
European Commission
Terms of use
© European Union, 2018