Commission welcomes Council agreement on pension portability: Statement by László ANDOR, Member of the EC in charge of Employment, Social Affairs and Inclusion (extracts from the EPSCO Council press conference)

Type: STOCKSHOT   Référence: I079745   Durée: 00:00:51   Première transmission: 20/06/2013  Lieu: Luxembourg (town), Luxembourg - Council
Fin de production: 20/06/2013
European Commissioner for Employment, Social Affairs and Inclusion László Andor has welcomed the 20th June agreement by the EU's Council of Employment, Social Policy, Health and Consumer Affairs on a general approach on the Commission's proposal for a Directive on improving the portability of supplementary pension rights. The Directive, as it has been agreed upon in Council, requires Member States to implement minimum requirements for the acquisition and preservation of pension rights for people who go to work in another Member State. Member States remain responsible for the conditions under which people change jobs within the same country but the Commission expects that Member States will decide to apply the standards laid down by this Directive also to internal mobility

Only the original language version is authentic and it prevails in the event of its differing from the translated versions.
PDF version

00:00:00 Title 00:00:05
00:00:05 Arrival of László Andor, Member of the EC in charge of Employment, Social Affairs and Inclusion 00:00:05
00:00:10 SOUNDBITE by László Andor (In English) saying that: The Council's endorsement of the proposed pension portability Directive is an important step towards ensuring that people can move to work in another Member State without losing their occupational pension benefits. People who exercise their right to free movement should not be penalised. This is important not only for the mobility of individuals, but also for the functioning of a genuine EU labour market. I now urge the European Parliament to adopt the Directive as soon as possible following the Council's agreement. 00:00:35
00:00:45 Speakers leaving the press room 00:00:06
00:00:51 End 00:00:00
Service Audiovisuel
Commission européenne
Conditions d'utilisation
© Commission européenne, 2016
© European Union, 2016