The EP and the Construction of Europe (part 4)

Type: Stockshots [short]   Référence: I075537   Durée: 14:09  Lieu: Brussels - EP,Strasbourg - EP,Strasbourg - EP/Louise Weiss,Amsterdam
What role has the European Parliament played at some key dates in European history? This stockshot traces the milestones of European construction since the Parliament's point of view.

Part 4: From the Treaty of Maastricht to the last enlargements
After various revisions, the Maastricht Treaty, formally the Treaty of the European Union (TEU), is eventually agreed and signed by the states in Maastricht on 7 February 1992. The Treaty enters into force on 1 November 1993. The result of separate negotiations on monetary union and political union, it leads to the creation of the European Union. Undoubtedly, the popularity of the Community is raised more by the Maastricht debate than by any previous developments in the Community's history. The new European dynamism and the continent's changing geopolitics lead to the accession of three more countries - Austria, Finland and Sweden - on 1 January 1995. The Europe of Fifteen is born. The Charter represents a reaffirmation of European democratic values and traditions concerning human rights and fundamental freedoms.

Only the original language version is authentic and it prevails in the event of its differing from the translated versions.
PDF version

00:00:00 Title: From the Treaty of Maastricht to the Enlargement and the Constitution 00:00:05
00:00:05 Signature of the Treaty of Maastricht on the European Union -Egon Klepsch is the first President of the European Parliament to take part in the European Council meeting of the Heads of State or Government 00:01:22
00:01:27 Building site of the new European Parliament building in Brussels 00:00:36
00:02:03 Inauguration of the new chamber of the European Parliament in Brussels by Albert II, King of the Belgians, and José María Gil-Robles, President of the EP 00:00:24
00:02:27 Third direct elections to the EP (June 1994) - TV advert designed by Folon; votes 00:00:56
00:03:24 EU Enlargement to Austria, Finland and Sweden: welcome ceremony by Klaus Hänsch, President of the EP - arrival of the new Members (Strasbourg, 16 January 1995) 00:01:23
00:04:47 Last speech of François Mitterrand, President of the French Republic, in front of the European Parliament on the occasion of the French Presidency (Strasbourg, 19 January 1995) 00:00:42
00:05:29 Hearings of the Commissioners Designate of Jacques Santer's Commission in front of the European Parliament 00:00:42
00:06:11 European Parliament's approval of Jacques Santer's Commission 00:00:40
00:06:51 BSE crisis (1996) 00:00:18
00:07:09 The European Parliament sets up an investigation committee to uncover possible omissions in the BSE crisis. 00:01:08
00:08:17 The European Parliament votes its final position on the IGC works (Strasbourg, 13 March 1996) 00:00:23
00:08:40 Signature of the Treaty of Amsterdam (Amsterdam, 2 October 1997) 00:00:29
00:09:09 The European Parliament votes its approval to the Single Currency (Brussels, 2 May 1998)
In presence of Gordon Brown, British Prime Minister and President in office of the Council, Jacques Santer, Karl von Wogau, Chairman of the Committee on Economic, Monetary and Industry Policy and rapporteur, and Christa Randzio-Plath, Chairwoman of the Monetary Sub-committee, the José María Gil-Robles signs the transmission letter of the EP approval on the Single Currency.
00:10:26 Speeches by Members of the EC in front of the EP: Jacques Santer, Edith Cresson, Manuel Marín (Brussels, January 1999) 00:00:31
00:10:57 Establishing the Commission of Independent Experts due to reply to the EP's allegations of fraud and corruption against the Santer Commission 00:00:24
00:11:21 Publication of the report prepared by the Commission of Independent Experts 00:01:00
00:12:21 Collegial dismissing of the European Commission (Brussels, 16 March 1999) 00:00:25
00:12:46 5th direct elections to the EP (June 1999): TV ad 00:00:20
00:13:06 Building site of the new European Parliament building in Strasbourg 00:00:03
00:13:09 Inauguration of the new Chamber of the European Parliament in Strasbourg by Jacques Chirac, President of the French Republic, and Nicole Fontaine, President of the EP (Strasbourg, 14 December 1999) 00:01:01
Audiovisual Service
European Commission
Terms of use
© European Union, 2017