20 years of the Maastricht Treaty

Type: Archives   Référence: I072185   Durée: 11:05  Lieu: Maastricht
The Treaty on European Union, or Maastricht Treaty, was signed on 7 February 1992 in Maastricht, The Netherlands, and entered into force on 1 November 1993.Its purpose was to prepare for the European Monetary Union and introduce elements of a political union (citizenship, common foreign and internal affairs policy).The main changes it brought are the establishment of the European Union and introduction of the co-decision procedure, giving Parliament more say in decision-making; and new forms of cooperation between EU governments – for example on defense and justice and home affairs.

Only the original language version is authentic and it prevails in the event of its differing from the translated versions.
PDF version

00:00:00 Generic and title 00:00:15
00:00:15 Arrival of Hans-Dietrich Genscher, German Federal Minister for Foreign Affairs;Arrival of Mark Eyskens, Belgian Minister for Foreign Affairs;Arrival of Gianni De Michelis, Italian Minister for Foreign Affairs;Arrival of Guido Carli, Italian Minister for Finance;Arrival of Uffe Ellemann-Jensen, Danish Minister for Foreign Affairs;Arrival of Antonis Samaras, Greek Minister for Foreign Affairs;Arrival of Theo Waigel, German Federal Minister for Finance;Maastricht, The Netherlands, 07/02/1992.(7 shots) 00:01:14
00:01:29 General view of the meeting room 00:00:04
00:01:33 Jacques Delors, President of the CEC 00:00:06
00:01:39 Round table: Hans-Dietrich Genscher and Theo Waigel; Francisco Fernández Ordóñez, Spanish Minister for Foreign Affairs, and Carlos Solchaga Catalán, Spanish Minister for Economic Affairs and Finance; Mark Eyskens and Philippe Maystadt, Belgian Minister for Finance; Uffe Ellemann-Jensen and Anders Fogh Rasmussen, Danish Minister for Economic Affairs. (4 shots) 00:00:23
00:02:02 Declaration by Aníbal Cavaco Silva, President of Portugal and President in office of the Council (in PORTUGESE) 00:00:48
00:02:50 Declaration by Ruud Lubbers, Dutch Prime Minister (in DUTCH) 00:00:48
00:03:38 Signatures ceremony: for Belgium: Mark Eyskens and Philippe Maystadt; for Denmark: Uffe Elleman-Jensen and Anders Fogh Rasmussen; for Germany: Hans-Dietrich Genscher and Theo Waigel; for Greece: Antonis Samaras and Efthymios Christodoulou, Greek Minister for Finance; for Spain: Francisco Fernández Ordoñez and Carlos Solchaga Catalán; for France: Roland Dumas, French Minister for Foreign Affairs, and Pierre Bérégovoy, French State Secretary for Economy, Finance and Budget; for Ireland: Gerard Collins, Irish Minister for Foreign Affairs, and Bertie Ahern, Irish Minister for Finance; for Italy: Gianni de Michelis and Guido Carli; for Luxembourg: Jacques Poos, Luxembourgish Minister for Foreign Affairs, and Jean-Claude Juncker, Luxembourgish Minister for Finance and Labour; for the Netherlands: Hans van den Broek, Dutch Minister for Foreign Affairs, and Wim Kok, Dutch Minister for Finance; for Portugal: João de Deus Pinheiro, Portuguese Minister for Foreign Affairs, and Jorge Braga de Macedo, Portuguese Minister for Finance; for the United Kingdom: Douglas Hurd, British Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs, and Francis Maude, British Financial Secretary to the Treasury.(12 shots) 00:05:12
00:08:50 Original documents (5 shots) 00:00:46
00:09:36 Intervention to the EP from Jacques Delors on the financial prospects post-Maastricht; social and economic cohesion; competitiveness and high technology; foreign affairs of the EC, 1997 (in FRENCH) 00:00:29
00:10:05 Copyright 00:00:10
Audiovisual Service
European Commission
Terms of use
© European Union, 2018