First weekly meeting of the Barroso II Commission

Type: Report   Référence: I064423   Durée: 03:07  Lieu: Brussels - EC/Berlaymont
On 17 February 2010, the Members of the EC, gathered for the first Barroso II weekly meeting. The new EU executive was the first to serve under the Lisbon treaty, designed to streamline EU decision-making and enhance the bloc's profile in international affairs. Outlining his priorities in last autumn, the President said his first order of business would be driving economic recovery and getting millions of people who lost their jobs during the slump back to work. He also pledged to continue his push for financial reforms to avert another crisis. Global warming, a major issue during the first term of the President, remains a top priority, as indicated by the creation of the new climate action portfolio.

Only the original language version is authentic and it prevails in the event of its differing from the translated versions.
PDF version

00:00:00 Title 00:00:05
00:00:05 Exterior view of the European Commission building 00:00:05
00:00:10 Arrival of Kristalina Georgieva, Member of the EC in charge of International Cooperation, Humanitarian Aid and Crisis Response 00:00:15
00:00:25 Arrival of Máire Geoghegan-Quinn, Member of the EC in charge of Research, Innovation and Science 00:00:17
00:00:42 Arrival of Connie Hedegaard, Member of the EC in charge of Climate Action (2 shots) 00:00:16
00:00:58 Kristalina Georgieva and Connie Hedegaard 00:00:06
00:01:04 Arrival of Cecilia Malmström, Member of the EC in charge of Home Affairs, and László Andor, Member of the EC in charge of Employment, Social Affairs and Inclusion 00:00:10
00:01:14 Arrival of Connie Hedegaard, and Michel Barnier, Member of the EC in charge of Internal Market and Services 00:00:09
00:01:23 Siim Kallas, Vice-President of the EC in charge of Transport, and Antonio Tajani, Vice-President of the EC in charge of Industry and Entrepreneurship 00:00:08
00:01:31 Androulla Vassiliou, Member of the EC in charge of Education, Culture, Multilingualism and Youth, and Connie Hedegaard 00:00:06
00:01:37 Cecilia Malmström, Kristalina Georgieva and Michel Barnier 00:00:08
00:01:45 Androulla Vassiliou and Máire Geoghegan-Quinn 00:00:07
00:01:52 Siim Kallas, Dacian Cioloş, Member of the EC in charge of Agriculture and Rural Development, and Antonio Tajani 00:00:07
00:01:59 Maria Damanaki, Member of the EC in charge of Maritime Affairs and Fisheries, Máire Geoghegan-Quinn, and Dacian Cioloş 00:00:05
00:02:04 José Manuel Barroso, President of the EC 00:00:05
00:02:09 Janusz Lewandowski, Member of the EC in charge of Budget and Financial Programming 00:00:10
00:02:19 José Manuel Barroso and Michel Barnier (2 shots) 00:00:09
00:02:28 Cutaway of press 00:00:06
00:02:34 General view of the meeting 00:00:07
00:02:41 Arrival of Catherine Ashton, High Representative of the Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy and Vice-President of the EC, and Joaquín Almunia, Vice-President of the EC in charge of Competition 00:00:12
00:02:53 Arrival of Olli Rehn, Member of the EC in charge of Economic and Monetary Affairs 00:00:06
00:02:59 General view of the meeting 00:00:08
Audiovisual Service
European Commission
Terms of use
© European Union, 2018