Vote on Suspension of the SWIFT agreement as a result of NSA surveillance: - extracts from the vote

Type: NEWS   Référence: 94680   Durée: 00:00:59   Première transmission: 23/10/2013  Lieu: Strasbourg, France - European Parliament
Fin de production: 23/10/2013
The EU should suspend its Terrorist Finance Tracking Program (TFTP) agreement with the US in response to the US National Security Agency's alleged tapping of EU citizens' bank data held by the Belgian company SWIFT, says a non-binding resolution voted by Parliament on Wednesday. The resolution, tabled by the S&D, ALDE and Greens/EFA groups, was passed by 280 votes to 254, with 30 abstentions. Although Parliament has no formal powers to initiate the suspension or termination of an international deal, "the Commission will have to act if Parliament withdraws its support for a particular agreement", says the approved text. It adds that Parliament will take account of the Commission's response to this demand when considering whether to give its consent to future international agreements.

Only the original language version is authentic and it prevails in the event of its differing from the translated versions.
PDF version

00:00:00 TITLE. 00:00:05
00:00:05 EXTERIOR SHOT of the European Parliament, Strasbourg. 00:00:10
00:00:15 Vice-Chair announcing the vote on Suspension of the SWIFT agreement as a result of NSA surveillance. 00:00:04
00:00:19 SOUNDBITE (German) Alexander Graf LAMBSDORFF (ALDE, DE) : English translation : "If we have our committee going to Washington, it would be nice to have a strong vote of this Parliament behind them (applauses) so that the attitude of the American authorities in this issue isn't acceptable." 00:00:17
00:00:36 Vice-Chair opening the vote by roll-cal.on the whole resolution. 00:00:02
00:00:38 Ambiance shots of the voting : 2 shots. 00:00:15
00:00:53 Vice-Chair announcing the result : adopted. 00:00:01
00:00:54 Electronic display : VOTING : 564 IN FAVOUR : 280 AGAINST : 254 ABSTENTIONS : 30 00:00:02
00:00:56 Applauses. Ambiance shots : 3 shots. 00:00:03
00:00:59 END. 00:00:00
Service Audiovisuel
Commission européenne
Conditions d'utilisation
© Commission européenne, 2016
© European Union, 2016