Vote on the EP 2014 election dates: - extracts from the vote on the report Carlo CASINI (EPP, IT)

Type: NEWS   Référence: 93786   Durée: 00:00:40   Première transmission: 21/05/2013  Lieu: Strasbourg, France - EP
Fin de production: 21/05/2013
The European Parlimanet adopted today the report of MEP Carlo Casini (EPP, IT) fixing the period for the eighth election of representatives to the European Parliament by direct universal suffrage. Elections to the European Parliament will be held in all member states of the European Union (EU) between 22 and 25 May 2014. Background : In accordance with the Electoral Act concerning the election of the members of the European Parliament by direct universal suffrage of 20 September 1976, the 2014 elections to the European Parliament should have taken place from 5 to 8 June 2014. Nevertheless, the Electoral Act stipulates that, if it proves impossible to hold the elections during that period, the Council acting unanimously shall, after consulting the European Parliament, determine, at least one year before the end of the five-year term, another electoral period which shall not be more than two months before or one month after the period normally applicable. At the request of one delegation, the Working Party on General Affairs has discussed during several meetings the question of the dates of the 2014 elections to the European Parliament. Following those discussions, delegations have agreed, pending the consultation of the European Parliament, to depart from the normally applicable dates and hold the next European Parliament elections in the period from 22 to 25 May 2014. It will be the eighth Europe-wide election to the European Parliament since the first direct elections in 1979. The 2014 election will be the first to apply the apportionment of seats foreseen in application of the Lisbon treaty. Following the election, MEP's will, for the first time proceed to the election of the President of the European Commission.

Only the original language version is authentic and it prevails in the event of its differing from the translated versions.
PDF version

00:00:00 TITLE 00:00:05
00:00:05 EXTERIOR SHOT of the European Parliament 00:00:05
00:00:10 Close-up shot on Rapoorteur Carlo Casini (EPP, IT) 00:00:02
00:00:12 Opening of the Vote : 6 shots 00:00:25
00:00:37 Electronic display of the result : Voting : 648 In favour : 601 Against : 31 Abstentions : 16 00:00:03
00:00:40 END 00:00:00
Service Audiovisuel
Commission européenne
Conditions d'utilisation
© Commission européenne, 2016
© European Union, 2016