European Council: All arrivals

Type: News   Reference: 93617   Duration: 00:09:55  Lieu: Council , Justus Lipsius building, Brussels
End production: 15/03/2013   First transmission: 15/03/2013
During this 2 days summit, EU leaders will conclude the first phase of the 2013 European Semester. The European Semester involves coordination of the member states' economic, fiscal and employment policies over a six-month period each year. The European Council will assess the overall progress made by member states in implementing the 2012 country-specific recommendations and adopt strategic advice and guidelines for member states. Leaders will also provide guidance to member states on the 2013 Stability and Convergence programmes, and on the implementation of Europe 2020 "flagship initiatives", in particular as regards new skills and jobs, industrial and innovation policies and the digital agenda. They will also discuss relations with strategic partners and may address specific foreign policy issues.

Only the original language version is authentic and it prevails in the event of its differing from the translated versions.
PDF version

00:00:00 Title 00:00:05
00:00:05 Arrival of Catherine Ashton, High Representative of the Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy and Vice-President of the EC 00:00:18
00:00:23 Arrival of Herman Van Rompuy, President of the European Council 00:00:15
00:00:38 Arrival of Angela Merkel, German Federal Chancellor 00:00:22
00:01:00 Arrival of Petr Necas, Czech Prime Minister 00:00:18
00:01:18 Arrival of Rosen Plevneliev, Bulgarian President (2 shots) 00:00:29
00:01:47 Arrival of Donald Tusk, Polish Prime Minister (3 shots) 00:00:17
00:02:04 Arrival of François Hollande, French President (2 shots) 00:00:18
00:02:22 Arrival of Fredrik Reinfeldt, Swedish Prime Minister (3 shots) 00:00:21
00:02:43 Arrival of Antonis Samaras, Greek Prime Minister (2 shots) 00:00:15
00:02:58 SOUNDBITE by Dalia Grybauskaite, Lithuanian President (In English) saying that: We will be discussing about Russia and not about Syria today. Journalist: Are you going to put pressure on Russia to stop arms delivery ton Syria? We need to have a clear and joint position with Russia and not the hours of dissonance especially on requirements for human rights on trade. We are allowing Russia to do a lot of things which we do not accept in Ukraine for example. So we need to be very precise on our relations with Russia. We would like to have a wide range agreement that would be useful for both countries, but we do not need to compromise our decisions to all third countries, without making exceptions as for example in the case of Russia. So I think that today we will be talking about it. 00:01:06
00:04:04 Arrival of Nicos Anastasiades, Cyprus President (2 shots) 00:00:24
00:04:28 SOUNDBITE by Jyrki Katainen, Finnish Prime Minister (In English) saying that: The decisions on Syria are a matter for foreign ministers. The Council of Foreign Ministers can change the rule base if they want to but so far we have had a very sustainable line on this issue and I do not expect remarkable changes. Question of journalist There will be no decisions on Cyprus in the European Council, the Finance ministers will look at the issue and hopefully get a solution. 00:00:34
00:05:02 Jyrki Katainen 00:00:06
00:05:08 Arrival of Mark Rutte, Dutch Prime Minister (3 shots) 00:00:24
00:05:32 Arrival of Andrus Ansip, Estonian Prime Minister (3 shots) 00:00:21
00:05:53 SOUNDBITE by Werner Faymann, Austrian Federal Chancellor (In German) saying that: (On Syria) I do not believe we can achieve any solution if we deliver more arms to a conflict. As a neutral country we have a steady position, we are against lifting arms embargo, we do not believe that the delivery of weapons can lead to any solution. 00:00:26
00:06:19 SOUNDBITE by Helle Thorning-Schmidt, Danish Prime Minister (In Danish) 00:00:20
00:06:39 Arrival of Pedro Passos Coelho, Portuguese Prime Minister 00:00:13
00:06:52 Arrival of Valdis Dombrovskis, Latvian Prime Minister 00:00:12
00:07:04 Arrival of José Manuel Barroso, EC President 00:00:09
00:07:13 Arrival of Jean-Claude Juncker, Luxembourg Prime Minister (3 shots) 00:00:17
00:07:30 Arrival of David Cameron, UK Prime Minister (2 shots) 00:00:14
00:07:44 Arrival of Joseph Muscat, Maltese Prime Minister (2 shots) 00:00:16
00:08:00 Arrival of Enda Kenny, Irish Taoiseach (3 shots) 00:00:19
00:08:19 Arrival of Mariano Rajoy, Spanish Prime Minister (3 shots) 00:00:18
00:08:37 Arrival of Traian Băsescu, Romanian President (2 shots) 00:00:15
00:08:52 Arrival of Elio Di Rupo, Belgian Prime Minister (2 shots) 00:00:16
00:09:08 Arrival of Viktor Orban, Hungarian Prime Minister (2 shots) 00:00:19
00:09:27 Arrival of Zoran Milanovic, Croatian Prime Minister (2 shots) 00:00:15
00:09:42 Arrival of Robert Fico, Slovakian Prime Minister (2 shots) 00:00:13
00:09:55 End 00:00:00
Audiovisual Services
European Commission
Conditions of use
© European Union, 2015