European Council: extracts from the roundtable

Type: News   Reference: 93615   Duration: 00:02:57  Lieu: Brussels, Belgium - Council / Justus Lipsius
End production: 14/03/2013   First transmission: 14/03/2013
On 14-15 March, EU leaders met in Brussels. They will conclude the first phase of the 2013 European Semester. The European Semester involves coordination of the Member States' economic, fiscal and employment policies over a six-month period each year. The European Council will assess the overall progress made by Member States in implementing the 2012 country-specific recommendations and adopt strategic advice and guidelines for Member States. Leaders will also provide guidance to member states on the 2013 Stability and Convergence programmes, and on the implementation of Europe 2020 "flagship initiatives", in particular as regards new skills and jobs, industrial and innovation policies and the digital agenda. They will also discuss relations with strategic partners and may address specific foreign policy issues.

Only the original language version is authentic and it prevails in the event of its differing from the translated versions.
PDF version

00:00:00 Title 00:00:05
00:00:05 Mariano Rajoy Brey, Spanish Prime Minister, arriving 00:00:06
00:00:11 Herman Van Rompuy, President of the European Council, Elio Di Rupo, Belgian Prime Minister and François Hollande, President of France 00:00:05
00:00:16 Herman Van Rompuy and David Cameron, British Prime Minister 00:00:05
00:00:21 David Cameron and Dalia Grybauskaité, Lithuanian President 00:00:06
00:00:27 Joseph Muscat, Maltese Prime Minister 00:00:05
00:00:32 José Manuel Barroso, EC President 00:00:05
00:00:37 Martin Schulz, President of the European Parliament, and François Hollande 00:00:08
00:00:45 José Manuel Barroso and Rosen Plevneliev, Bulgarian Prime Minister 00:00:02
00:00:47 Zoran Milanovic, Croatian Prime Minister, and Andrus Ansip, Estonian Prime Minister 00:00:04
00:00:51 Cutaway of cameramen 00:00:05
00:00:56 Elio Di Rupo and Herman Van Rompuy 00:00:04
00:01:00 Traian Basescu, Romanian President 00:00:04
00:01:04 General view of the meeting 00:00:06
00:01:10 Dalia Grybauskaité and Herman Van Rompuy 00:00:02
00:01:12 José Manuel Barroso and François Hollande 00:00:11
00:01:23 General view of the meeting 00:00:07
00:01:30 Helle Thorning-Schmidt, Danish Prime Minister, and Mario Monti, Italian Prime Minister 00:00:07
00:01:37 Jean-Claude Juncker, Prime Minister of Luxembourg, and Herman Van Rompuy 00:00:03
00:01:40 General view 00:00:09
00:01:49 Rosen Plevneliev and Nicos Anastasiades, President of Cyprus 00:00:08
00:01:57 Angela Merkel, German Federal Chancellor, shaking hands with Mark Rutte, Dutch Prime Minister 00:00:07
00:02:04 François Hollande and Angela Merkel 00:00:06
00:02:10 Angela Merkel, Jean-Claude Juncker and Martin Schulz 00:00:15
00:02:25 José Manuel Barroso and Nicos Anastasiades 00:00:08
00:02:33 Werner Faymann, Austrian Federal Chancellor, and Pedro Passos Coelho, Portuguese Prime Minister 00:00:04
00:02:37 Viktor Orbán, Hungarian Prime Minister, and Donald Tusk, Polish Prime Minister 00:00:04
00:02:41 General view of the meeting (2 shots) 00:00:16
00:02:57 End 00:00:00
Audiovisual Services
European Commission
Conditions of use
© European Union, 2016