European Council: all arrivals

Type: NEWS   Référence: 92431   Durée: 00:04:35   Première transmission: 08/02/2013  Lieu: Brussels, Belgium - Council / Justus Lipsius
Fin de production: 08/02/2013
After a 2-hour break early Friday, EU leaders resume negotiations on the proposal for the bloc's 2014-20 budget to be cut to 960 billion Euros. The EU are still debating behind closed doors on the second day of the EU summit, more than 17 hours after they first started discussing the spending plans in Brussels. If approved, the 960-billion-euro figure would be 34.3 billion euros lower than commitments in the 2007-13 budget. The European Commission, the EU's executive, had initially sought 1.05 trillion euros in commitments. The cuts proposed by EU President Herman Van Rompuy would be sweetened by more flexibility between the annual budgets that will have to be formulated over the seven years. Large infrastructure projects would be particularly hit hard under the cuts foreseen by Van Rompuy. More funding would be earmarked, however, to fight youth unemployment - a total of 6 billion euros, with half to come from the European Social Fund. Britain, Germany and other northern nations had pushed hard for cuts, arguing that EU spending cannot rise when they have to apply painful austerity measures back home. Their demands for a budget that would amount to 1 per cent of the EU's gross national income would be met by Van Rompuy's proposal. But southern and eastern European countries put up a fight, fearing that their poor regions would lose crucial EU support and arguing that reductions would undercut growth. The leaders are under pressure to deliver a deal this week, after a first budget summit in November did not produce an agreement.

Only the original language version is authentic and it prevails in the event of its differing from the translated versions.
PDF version

00:00:00 Title 00:00:05
00:00:05 Angela Merkel, German Federal Chancellor 00:00:20
00:00:25 Dalia Grybauskaité, Lithuanian President 00:00:06
00:00:31 Werner Faymann, Austrian Federal Chancellor 00:00:11
00:00:42 Robert Fico, Slovakian Prime Minister 00:00:08
00:00:50 Jyrki Katainen, Finnish President 00:00:12
00:01:02 Valdis Dombrovskis, Latvian Prime Minister 00:00:08
00:01:10 Mariano Rajoy Brey, Spanish Prime Minister 00:00:13
00:01:23 Pedro Passos Coelho, Portuguese Prime Minister 00:00:09
00:01:32 Antonio Samaras Greek Prime Minister 00:00:12
00:01:44 Lawrence Gonzi, Maltese Prime Minister 00:00:13
00:01:57 Viktor Orbán, Hungarian Prime Minister 00:00:15
00:02:12 David Cameron, British Prime Minister 00:00:23
00:02:35 Helle Thorning-Schmidt, Danish Prime Minister 00:00:20
00:02:55 Janez Jansa, Slovenian Prime Minister 00:00:07
00:03:02 Frederik Reinfeldt, Swedish Prime Minister 00:00:15
00:03:17 Jean-Claude Juncker, Prime Minister of Luxembourg 00:00:13
00:03:30 Zoran Milanovic, Croatian Prime Minister 00:00:08
00:03:38 Demetris Christofias, President of Cyprus 00:00:02
00:03:40 Enda Kenny, The Taoiseach, Irish Prime Minister 00:00:06
00:03:46 Catherine Ashton EU High Representative / EC Vice President 00:00:26
00:04:12 Elio Di Rupo, Belgian Prime Minister 00:00:06
00:04:18 José Manuel Barroso, EC President 00:00:17
00:04:35 End 00:00:00
Service Audiovisuel
Commission européenne
Conditions d'utilisation
© Commission européenne, 2016
© European Union, 2016