Visit of Kristalina Georgieva to Haiti: 12/01/2013

Type: Report   Reference: I-075825   Duration: 10:02:02  Lieu:
End production: 12/01/2013   First transmission: 13/01/2013
On 12 January 2013, Kristalina Georgieva, Member of the EC in charge of International Cooperation, Humanitarian Aid and Crisis Response, was in visit to Haiti. Three years after a devastating earthquake struck Haiti, taking more than 200,000 lives and making 1.5 million people homeless, the EU continues to help the struggling country with an additional €30.5 million in humanitarian funding announced during Kristalina Georgieva's visit. This new funding will help those still homeless as a result of the earthquake, cholera victims and those badly affected by Hurricane Sandy. During her stay, Kristalina Georgieva participated in the official closing of the Jean Marie Vincent camp, in the town of Tabarre, which had sheltered earthquake victims since 2010. The place is now home to a new school built with the financial assistance provided by the EU.

Only the original language version is authentic and it prevails in the event of its differing from the translated versions.
PDF version

10:00:00 Title 00:00:05
10:00:05 A group of students of the College Jean-Marie Vincent welcoming the EU Delegation 00:00:05
10:00:10 Arrival of Kristalina Georgieva, Member of the EC in charge of International Cooperation, Humanitarian Aid and Crisis Response (2 shots) 00:00:11
10:00:22 Soundbite by Kristalina Georgieva (in ENGLISH): We are here today on a very special day for Haiti but also for the rest of the world; On this day, three years ago Haiti woke up with more than 222 000 people gone (4 shots) 00:00:28
10:00:50 William Lacy Swing, Director-General of the International Organization for Migration (IOM), making a speech 00:00:13
10:01:04 William Lacy Swing and Kristalina Georgieva 00:00:05
10:01:09 Soundbite by Kristalina Georgieva (in ENGLISH) saying that she is there for representing European people and the commitment of Europe to Haiti. Europe has provided over 614 millions dollars in humanitarian assistance alone and the EU has made a commitment of over 1.7 billion dollars for the reconstruction of Haiti (5 shots) 00:00:27
10:01:37 Cutaway of a sign representing the project of Jean-Marie Vincent accommodation centre 00:00:05
10:01:42 Exterior view of the College 00:00:03
10:01:46 Cutaways of a class 00:00:16
10:02:02 Kristalina Georgieva making a speech Bad quality of sound. 00:00:27
Audiovisual Services
European Commission
Conditions of use
© European Union, 2015