Special meeting of the European Council: extracts from the roundtable

Type: News   Reference: 90122   Duration: 00:03:33  Lieu: Brussels, Belgium - Council / Justus Lipsius
End production: 23/11/2012   First transmission: 23/11/2012
The Heads of State or Government of the European Union gathered today in Brussels for a two-day special meeting of the European Council on the Multiannual Financial Framework (MFF) 2014 - 2020. Negotiations on the new budget were expected to be very tough, against the backdrop of economic crisis, and high tensions between the Member States who want to reduce EU spending and the others in favour of the European Commission's proposal. Eleven EU Leaders so far have threatened to veto the EU budget unless they get a better deal. Ahead of the European Council, Herman Van Rompuy, President of the European Council, and José Manuel Barroso, President of the EC, held bilateral meetings all day long with several Member States to try to find an agreement.

Only the original language version is authentic and it prevails in the event of its differing from the translated versions.
PDF version

00:00:00 Title 00:00:05
00:00:05 Martin Schulz, President of the European Parliament, with Dalia Grybauskaité, Lithuanian President, and with Valdis Dombrovskis, Latvian Prime Minister (2 shots) 00:00:09
00:00:14 Arrival of Andrus Ansip, Estonian Prime Minister, and of Robert Fico, Slovakian Prime Minister 00:00:11
00:00:25 Arrival of Jean-Claude Juncker, Prime Minister of Luxembourg and President of the Eurogroup 00:00:13
00:00:38 Arrival of Mario Monti, Italian Prime Minister 00:00:07
00:00:45 Arrival of Angela Merkel, German Federal Chancellor - joining Pedro Passos Coelho, Portuguese Prime Minister (3 shots) 00:00:24
00:01:09 Angela Merkel and Pedro Passos Coelho joined by Jean-Claude Juncker (2 shots) 00:00:14
00:01:23 Cutaway of cameramen 00:00:04
00:01:27 Arrival of Mark Rutte, Dutch Prime Minister 00:00:11
00:01:38 General view 00:00:13
00:01:51 Arrival of Helle Thorning-Schmidt, Danish Prime Minister - joined by Jean-Claude Juncker 00:00:09
00:02:00 Arrival of Herman Van Rompuy, President of the European Council, and of José Manuel Barroso, President of the EC (2 shots) 00:00:16
00:02:16 Arrival of François Hollande, President of France 00:00:10
00:02:26 Traian Basescu, Romanian President, and Herman Van Rompuy 00:00:06
00:02:32 Arrival of David Cameron, British Prime Minister - joining Mark Rutte (2 shots) 00:00:13
00:02:45 Arrival of Enda Kenny, Irish Prime Minister, and of Frederik Reinfeldt, Swedish Prime Minister 00:00:05
00:02:50 François Hollande with Helle Thorning-Schmidt and Werner Faymann, Austrian Federal Chancellor 00:00:06
00:02:56 Angela Merkel with Andrus Ansip, Mark Rutte and David Cameron 00:00:05
00:03:01 Enda Kenny and Demetris Christofias, President of Cyprus 00:00:05
00:03:06 José Manuel Barroso 00:00:04
00:03:10 Mariano Rajoy Brey, Spanish Prime Minister 00:00:04
00:03:14 General view 00:00:19
00:03:33 END 00:00:00
Audiovisual Services
European Commission
Conditions of use
© European Union, 2014