José Manuel BARROSO, President of the EC, receives Nobel Laureates: roundtable

Type: NEWS   Référence: 89896   Durée: 00:00:36   Première transmission: 15/11/2012  Lieu: Brussels, Belgium - EC/Berlaymont
Fin de production: 15/11/2012
European Commission President José Manuel Barroso has today welcomed a delegation led by Nobel laureates Sir Tim Hunt and Professor Jules Hoffman to the European Commission. They have presented President Barroso, in addition to the President of the European Parliament, Martin Schulz, and the President of the European Council, Herman Van Rompuy, with an open letter, signed by 44 Nobel laureates and 6 Fields medallists. The letter emphasises the importance of EU funding for research and innovation, and warns against the consequences of budget cuts in these areas. The delegation also highlighted a petition in support of this cause, to date signed by more than 130 000 people from Europe and around the globe.

Only the original language version is authentic and it prevails in the event of its differing from the translated versions.
PDF version

00:00:00 Title 00:00:11
00:00:11 José Manuel Barroso, President of the EC wlcoming the laureates: Tim Hunt, Jules Hoffmann, Maria Leptin, Helga Nowotny, Leif Schröder and Wolfgang Eppenschwandtner 00:00:15
00:00:26 Group Photo 00:00:10
00:00:36 General view 00:00:00
Service Audiovisuel
Commission européenne
Conditions d'utilisation
© Commission européenne, 2016
© European Union, 2016