ECOFIN-EFTA meeting: doorstep by Didier BURKHALTER, Head of the Department of Foreign Affairs of Switzerland and roundtable

Type: NEWS   Référence: 89720   Durée: 00:06:46   Première transmission: 13/11/2012  Lieu: Brussels, Belgium - Council
Fin de production: 13/11/2012
On 13 November, EU Finance Ministers meet their counterparts from EFTA (Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland) to discuss the economic situation, as well as international accounting issues. Among other issues thet are expected to discuss a proposed mandate for the Commission to negotiate amendments to agreements signed in 2004 with Switzerland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Andorra and San Marino on the taxation of savings income. The aim is to update the agreements so as to ensure that the five countries apply measures that are equivalent to an amended EU directive on the taxation of savings income. Amendments to both the directive and the agreements would set out to improve their effectiveness, whilst reflecting changes to savings products and developments in investor behaviour, so as to prevent their circumvention. The proposed negotiating mandate was discussed by the Council on 15 May. In the light of reservations expressed by the Luxembourg and Austrian delegations, the matter was referred to the European Council in June, which called for agreement to be reached rapidly.

Only the original language version is authentic and it prevails in the event of its differing from the translated versions.
PDF version

00:00:00 Title 00:00:05
00:00:05 Arrival of Didier Burkhalter, Head of the Department of Foreign Affairs of Switzerland 00:00:05
00:00:10 SOUNDBITE (in German) Didier Burkhalter: It is important for us to find a solution for the Mifid 2 regulation. We agree that it moves to the direction of harmonisation, however we do not want the regulation to go too far and eventually create problems for the economy in general and not only in Switzerland. What is the position of Swissland? The Swiss position is clear, we support the harmonisation but we want a cross-border cooperation possibility and therefore we need arrangement and equivalence principles 00:00:38
00:00:48 Arrival of Vassos Shiarly, Minister for Finance of Cyprus (2 shots) 00:00:09
00:00:57 Icelandic representative (2 shots) 00:00:11
00:01:08 General view of the meeting 00:00:04
00:01:12 Icelandic Representative 00:00:06
00:01:18 General view of the meeting 00:00:05
00:01:23 Delegation 00:00:06
00:01:29 Norvegian delegation 00:00:05
00:01:34 Cutaway of the cameraman 00:00:04
00:01:38 Vittorio Grilli, Italian Minister of Economy and Finance (3 shots) 00:00:18
00:01:56 Didier Burkhalter 00:00:11
00:02:07 Cutaway of a cameramn 00:00:02
00:02:09 Didier Burkhalter 00:00:07
00:02:16 Islandic representative (2 shots) 00:00:10
00:02:26 Luis de Guindos Jurado, Minister of Economy and Competitiveness of Spain (3 shots) 00:00:17
00:02:43 Norvegian delegation 00:00:04
00:02:47 Wolfgang Schäuble, German Federal Minister for Finance 00:00:06
00:02:53 Cutaway of the photographers 00:00:02
00:02:55 Wolfgang Schäuble and Margrethe Vestager, Danish Minister for Economics and the Interior (3 shots) 00:00:16
00:03:11 Andris Vilks, Latvian Minister for Finance (2 shots) 00:00:11
00:03:22 Maria Fekter, Federal Minister for Finance of Austria and (3 shots) 00:00:14
00:03:36 Ingrida Simonyte, Lithuanian Minister for Finance 00:00:11
00:03:47 Vassos Shiarly and Margrethe Vestager 00:00:06
00:03:53 Pierre Moscovici, French Minister for Finance, Economic Affairs and Industry and Wolfgang Schäuble (2 shots) 00:00:14
00:04:07 Cutaway of cameramen 00:00:03
00:04:10 Anders Borg, Swedish Minister for Finance and Norvegian delegation 00:00:10
00:04:20 Pierre Moscovici and Wolfgang Schäuble 00:00:06
00:04:26 Anders Borg and Michel Barnier, Member of the EC in charge of Internal Market and Services 00:00:06
00:04:32 Jürgen Ligi, Estonian Minister of Finance 00:00:06
00:04:38 General view of the meeting 00:00:06
00:04:44 Delagation 00:00:06
00:04:50 Olli Rehn, Member of the EC in charge of Economic and Monetary Affairs 00:00:03
00:04:53 Maria Fekter and Michel Barnier 00:00:05
00:04:58 Olli Rehn 00:00:07
00:05:05 Vassos Shiarly and Icelandic delegation 00:00:04
00:05:09 Cutaway of cameraman 00:00:04
00:05:13 Belgian delegation 00:00:05
00:05:18 Anders Borg and Jeroen Dijsselbloem, Dutch Minister for Finance (2 shots) 00:00:12
00:05:30 Delegations 00:00:04
00:05:34 George Osborne, British Chancellor of the Exchequer and Jeroen Dijsselbloem (3 shots) 00:00:18
00:05:52 Wolfgang Schäuble and George Osborne 00:00:08
00:06:00 Jutta Urpilainen, Finnish Minister for Finance 00:00:07
00:06:07 General view 00:00:14
00:06:21 George Osborne 00:00:05
00:06:26 Jeroen Dijsselbloem 00:00:02
00:06:28 Jutta Urpilainen 00:00:02
00:06:30 General view of the conference (2 shots) 00:00:16
00:06:46 End 00:00:00
Service Audiovisuel
Commission européenne
Conditions d'utilisation
© Commission européenne, 2016
© European Union, 2016