Weekly European Commission meeting: roundtable

Type: NEWS   Référence: 88672   Durée: 10:02:29   Première transmission: 10/10/2012  Lieu: Brussels, Belgium - EC/Berlaymont
Fin de production: 10/10/2012
On 10 October 2012, the College of the EC gathered for its weekly meeting in Brussels. They mainly discuss about the news of the day: “Industrial Policy Communication Update – A contribution to growth and economic recovery” press conference by Antonio Tajani. With this communication, the Commission intends to create the conditions to maintain a strong industrial basis in Europe. It aims at strengthening industrial competitiveness to underpin growth and jobs and to enable the transition to an innovative and resource-efficient economy. The Commission identifies four priority areas, which need urgent attention as a result of the economic crisis: 1. Stimulate investments for promising target sectors such as clean products and vehicles, bio based products, key enabling technologies and smart grids. 2. Allow EU companies to derive maximum benefit from the international markets and the Internal Market, the last one by improving market surveillance, intellectual property rights, and by undertaking fitness checks to assess the overall legislative framework in a particular policy area and competitiveness proofing. 3. Concrete proposals to improve access to finance, particularly for SMEs. 4. Ensure that skills meet industry’s needs. The aim is to converge towards the on-going new industrial revolution. The 2012 Enlargement package was also on the agenda of the Commission meeting. It comprised three Communications: a Strategy Paper, a Feasibility Study for a Stabilisation and Association Agreement with Kosovo, and the Main Findings of the Comprehensive monitoring report on Croatia's accession preparations; as well as seven Progress Reports on the other candidate countries and potential candidates and a Comprehensive Monitoring Report on Croatia.

Only the original language version is authentic and it prevails in the event of its differing from the translated versions.
PDF version

00:00:00 Antonio Tajani and Dacian Ciolos 10:00:00
10:00:00 Title 00:00:05
10:00:05 Andris Piebalgs, Member of the EC in charge of Development (2 shots) 00:00:10
10:00:15 Andris Piebalgs with Cecilia Malmström, Member of the EC in charge of Home Affairs 00:00:07
10:00:22 Algirdas Šemeta, Member of the EC in charge of Taxation and Customs Union 00:00:09
10:00:31 Antonio Tajani, Vice President in charge of Industry and Entrepreneurship 00:00:08
10:00:39 Algirdas Šemeta and John Dalli, Member of the EC in charge of Health and Consumer Policy 00:00:05
10:00:44 Arrival of José Manuel Barroso, EC President 00:00:07
10:00:51 Arrival of Viviane Reding, Vice President in charge of Justice, Fundamental Rights and Citizenship 00:00:10
10:01:01 José Manuel Barroso and Antonio Tajani 00:00:07
10:01:08 John Dalli and Algirdas Šemeta 00:00:09
10:01:17 Cecilia Malmström and Štefan Füle, Member of the EC in charge of Enlargement and European Neighbourhood 00:00:23
10:01:40 Dacian Ciolos 00:00:06
10:01:46 Andris Piebalgs and Neelie Kroes, Vice President in charge of Digital Agenda 00:00:07
10:01:53 Wide shot of the room 00:00:05
10:01:58 José Manuel Barroso, EC President 00:00:05
10:02:03 Androulla Vassiliou, Member of the EC in charge of Education, Culture, Multilingualism, Sport, Media and Youth 00:00:08
10:02:11 Antonio Tajani 00:00:08
10:02:19 José Manuel Barroso, EC President and Neelie Kroes 00:00:05
10:02:24 Wide shot of the meeting room 00:00:05
10:02:29 Johannes Hahn, Member of the EC in charge of Regional Policy 00:00:00
10:02:29 END 00:00:00
Service Audiovisuel
Commission européenne
Conditions d'utilisation
© Commission européenne, 2016
© European Union, 2016