Martin SCHULZ, EP President receives a letter on The Future of Science in Europe by - Tim HUNT, Laureate of the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 2001 - Jules A. HOFFMANN, Laureate of the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 2011

Type: News   Reference: 87923   Duration: 00:01:19  Lieu: Brussels, Belgium - European Parliament
End production: 15/11/2012   First transmission: 15/11/2012
A delegation led by Nobel laureates today meets the President of the European Parliament Martin Schulz, the President of the European Council Herman Van Rompuy and the President of the European Commission José Manuel Barroso, to urge EU leaders to secure the future budget for research and innovation Horizon 2020. They will hand in an open letter, signed by 44 Nobel laureates and 6 Fields medallists, warning against the dramatic consequences of possible budget cuts in research and innovation. The delegation will also draw attention to a petition “No cuts on research” in support of this cause; to date signed by over 131 000 citizens in Europe and across the globe. These Europe-wide initiatives are launched ahead of the 22-23 November European summit on the overall EU budget for 2014 till 2020.

Only the original language version is authentic and it prevails in the event of its differing from the translated versions.
PDF version

00:00:00 Title 00:00:05
00:00:05 Exterior shot of the EP, Brussels 00:00:05
00:00:10 Ambience shots with the delegation led by Nobel Laureates: Sir Tim Hunt (Nobel Laureate in Physiology or Medicine 2001), Jules Hoffmann (Nobel Laureate in Physiology or Medicine 2011), Helga Nowotny (President of the European Research Council, ERC) and Maria Leptin (President of the Initiative for Science in Europe and Director of the European Molecular Biology Organisation, EMBO). Shots on the petition. 00:00:13
00:00:23 Arrival of EP President Martin SCHULZ and greetings. 00:00:18
00:00:41 Family picture 00:00:25
00:01:06 Meeting at the EP President premises. 00:00:13
00:01:19 END 00:00:00
Audiovisual Services
European Commission
Conditions of use
© European Union, 2015