Sakharov Prize 2012: - indicative vote to produce a list of three candidates to forward to the Conference of Presidents - statement by Barbara LOCHBIHLER, Chair of the Subcommittee on Human Rights

Type: NEWS   Référence: 87298   Durée: 00:02:02   Première transmission: 09/10/2012  Lieu: Brussels, Belgium - European Parliament
Fin de production: 09/10/2012
Ales Bialiatski, Pussy Riot and Nasrin Sotoudeh and Jafar Panahi are the three finalists shortlisted for the 2012 Sakharov Prize for Freedom of Thought in a Foreign affairs Committee and Development Committee vote on Tuesday. The laureate will be announced on Friday, 26 October following a decision of the Conference of Presidents. The winner will receive €50,000 and be invited to attend the award ceremony on 12 December in Strasbourg. More info:

Only the original language version is authentic and it prevails in the event of its differing from the translated versions.
PDF version

00:00:00 Title 00:00:05
00:00:05 Exterior shot of the EP, Brussels 00:00:05
00:00:10 Arrivals and ambience shots before the joint meeting of EP Committees AFET, DEVE and DROI starts (13 shots). Eva JOLY, Chair of the DEVE Committee 00:01:07
00:01:17 Exiting the meeting 00:00:08
00:01:25 SOUNDBITE (English) Barbara LOCHBIHLER, Chair of the Subcommittee on Human Rights: "We had a number of very good candidates and now we have selected 3. One is from Belarus, Mr Bialiatski, then we have two candidates from Iran, Mme Sotoudeh and Mr Panahi, the film-maker, and the third is the group 'Pussy Riot' from Russia. So I think we have a good choice of three candidates and now we will see who will get the Sakharov Prize, because already being nominated is a good support on their work on the freedom of thought". 00:00:30
00:01:55 Exit shot, MEPs leaving the room. Elmar BROK, Chair of the AFET Committee. 00:00:07
00:02:02 END 00:00:00
Service Audiovisuel
Commission européenne
Conditions d'utilisation
© Commission européenne, 2016
© European Union, 2016