Foreign Affairs Council, 3183rd meeting: round table

Type: Report   Reference: I-074092   Duration: 10:03:01  Lieu:
End production: 23/07/2012   First transmission: 23/07/2012
On 23 July 2012, Catherine Ashton, High Representative of the Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy, chaired the 3183rd meeting of the Foreign Affairs Council, in Brussels. The Council discussed developments in the EU's Southern neighbourhood, focusing on Syria and Libya. The Council took stock of the situation in Sudan and South Sudan, one year after the independence of South Sudan. The Council expressed its alarm at the deteriorating situation in Mali and the adverse impact of this on regional and international peace and stability. The Council welcomed the progress achieved on the Common Security and Defence Policy (CSDP) since the Council conclusions of 1 December 2011, in particular the imminent launch of three new CSDP missions as well as the continued planning for EU support to border security in Libya. Finally the Council was encouraged by the progress made in implementing the Global Political Agreement in Zimbabwe. This video shows extracts from the round table.

Only the original language version is authentic and it prevails in the event of its differing from the translated versions.
PDF version

10:00:00 Title 00:00:05
10:00:05 Catherine Ashton, High Representative of the Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy and President of the Council (2 shots) 00:00:05
10:00:10 Vesna Pusić, Croatian Minister for Foreign and European Affairs (2 shots) 00:00:09
10:00:19 Karl Erjavec, Slovenian Minister for Foreign Affairs 00:00:03
10:00:23 Karl Erjavec and Michael Spindelegger, Austrian Federal Minister for European and International Affairs (2 shots) 00:00:10
10:00:34 Karl Erjavec and Erato Kozakou-Marcoullis, Cypriot Minister for Foreign Affairs (2 shots) 00:00:10
10:00:44 Michael Spindelegger and Kristalina Georgieva, Member of the EC in charge of International Cooperation, Humanitarian Aid and Crisis Response (2 shots) 00:00:11
10:00:56 Erato Kozakou-Marcoullis and Catherine Ashton 00:00:07
10:01:03 Erato Kozakou-Marcoullis 00:00:05
10:01:09 Catherine Ashton (2 shots) 00:00:11
10:01:20 János Martonyi, Hungarian Minister for Foreign Affairs, and Nickolay Mladenov, Bulgarian Minister for Foreign Affairs 00:00:07
10:01:28 Štefan Füle, Member of the EC in charge of Enlargement and European Neighbourhood Policy (2 shots) 00:00:10
10:01:38 Miroslav Lajčák, Managing Director for Russia, Eastern Neighbourhood and the Western Balkans of the European External Action Service (EEAS), and Vesna Pusić 00:00:06
10:01:45 Tonio Borg, Maltese Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Foreign Affairs 00:00:04
10:01:49 Nickolay Mladenov 00:00:03
10:01:53 Lucinda Creighton, Irish Minister of State for European Affairs 00:00:06
10:01:59 Uri Rosenthal, Dutch Minister for Foreign Affairs 00:00:06
10:02:06 Uri Rosenthal and Tonio Borg 00:00:02
10:02:08 Didier Reynders, Belgian Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Foreign Affairs, External Trade and European Affairs 00:00:04
10:02:13 Gonzalo de Benito Secades, Spanish State Secretary at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs 00:00:05
10:02:19 Didier Reynders, Gonzalo de Benito Secades and Jean Asselborn, Luxembourgish Minister for Foreign Affairs 00:00:04
10:02:23 Karel Schwarzenberg, Czech Minister for Foreign Affairs and Uri Rosenthal 00:00:05
10:02:29 General view of the meeting room 00:00:09
10:02:39 Giulio Terzi di Sant'Agata, Italian Minister for Foreign Affairs 00:00:05
10:02:45 Edgars Rinkēvičs, Latvian Minister for Foreign Affairs 00:00:05
10:02:50 Dimitris Kourkoulas, Greek Deputy Minister for Foreign Affairs 00:00:04
10:02:55 William Hague, British Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs 00:00:05
10:03:01 General view of the meeting room 00:00:14
Audiovisual Services
European Commission
Conditions of use
© European Union, 2015