Award of the Sakharov Prize to Nasrin Sotoudeh and Jafar Panahi: statement by - Serge Toubiana, Director of the Cinémathèque française

Type: NEWS   Référence: 86732   Durée: 00:03:06   Première transmission: 12/12/2012  Lieu: Strasbourg, France - European Parliament
Fin de production: 12/12/2012
By awarding the Sakharov Prize to two Iranian activists, lawyer Nasrin Sotoudeh and film director Jafar Panahi, the European Parliament acknowledges their plight and their outstanding efforts in their incessant struggle for human dignity, fundamental freedoms and political change in Iran, said President Martin Schulz at the Sakharov Prize award ceremony on Wednesday in Strasbourg. The laureates designated five people to represent them at the ceremony: Dr Shirin Ebadi, Nobel Peace Laureate in 2003, Mr Karim Lahidji,Founder of the Iranian Association of Jurists and of The League for the Defence of Human Rights in Iran, Ms Solmaz Panahi,daughter of Jafar Panahi, Mr Costa-Gavras, President of the Cinémathèque Française, Mr Serge Toubiana,Director General of the CinémathèqueFrançaise. "We, in the European Parliament, fully support our laureates' cry for justice and freedom in Iran and for respect for basic rights and freedoms, We are honouring these people who are standing up for a better Iran" said President Martin Schulz, who concluded by calling for the immediate release of Nasrin Sotoudeh.

Only the original language version is authentic and it prevails in the event of its differing from the translated versions.
PDF version

00:00:00 Title 00:00:05
00:00:05 Exterior shot of the EP, Strasbourg 00:00:05
00:00:10 SOUNDBITE (French) Serge Toubiana, Director of the Cinémathèque française: "Both Nasrin Sotoudeh and Jafar Panahi are very courageous people, which do not renounce to their fight. And they want to live in their own country, they want to live in freedom in their country, this is a very important message". 00:00:17
00:00:27 SOUNDBITE (French) Serge Toubiana, Director of the Cinémathèque française: "Two years ago the Cannes festival had invited Mr Panahi to be member of the Jury. By showing his empty seat everybody could see that there was someone who could not come to Cannes, because he was not allowed by the Iranian authorities. And the cinema world is a very open and free world, if we see that someone is not allowed to come we all feel concerned. Juliette Binoche has reacted in a very spontaneous way, she was crying. Immediately there has been a movement of solidarity, we have organised different petitions to protect Jafar Panahi and other Iranian filmmakers, also the human right lawyers, the journalist... to protect all those who are always at the forefront of the fight for freedom. The petitions have been signed by everybody: US filmmakers, South American., etc. We have been in touch with them and of course we show their films, and that is essential. I know that the EP has shown Jafar Panahi's films and this is extremely important, we have to continue showing their works, to show that they are not dangerous people, they are not threatening peace, they are just storytellers, people that love what they do, people that have a special view on life and on society... and that's not a reason to be in prison. On the contrary, they should not only be respected but congratulated for having this lucidity and freedom". 00:01:56
00:02:23 SOUNDBITE (French) Serge Toubiana, Director of the Cinémathèque française: "Together with Costa-Gavras we have received the Sakharov Prize, we are going to bring it to Paris to the Cinemateque Française. As soon as we can, we will give it to him. We hope he's going to be free very soon and not going to any prison in Teheran, we hope he will be soon able to make movies, to travel to Europe and show his films, and then to come back to his country. Because he doesn't want to be a filmmaker in exile, he wants to come back home freely, to his country, to his culture, to his language. so I hope we can see that soon, we hope to she hand with him soon, and handle him his Sakharov Prize". 00:00:43
00:03:06 END 00:00:00
Service Audiovisuel
Commission européenne
Conditions d'utilisation
© Commission européenne, 2016
© European Union, 2016