Competitiveness Council (Internal Market): all arrivals

Type: News   Reference: 83311   Duration: 00:00:59  Lieu: Brussels, Belgium - Council
End production: 20/02/2012   First transmission: 20/02/2012
Ole Sohn, Danish Minister for Business and Growth is chairing this first day of the two-day Competitiveness Council, which focuses on Internal Market topics. On Monday 20 February, the Council will start with a debate on the Europe 2020 strategy for growth and jobs in relation to the Commission's Annual Growth Survey, in preparation of the EU Spring summit on 1 and 2 March. It will continue with public debates on three priority areas, included in the Single Market Act, which are designed to help EU companies increase their competitiveness and their ability to create jobs: - the reform of accounting rules, with a specific focus on a proposal for transparency on payments made to governments; - the modernisation of the public procurement policy; and, - the improvement of SME's access to finance through the establishment of an EU passport for the managers of venture capital funds and social entrepreneurship funds. The Council will be invited to adopt conclusions on the smart regulation agenda, which is aimed at simplifying the regulatory environment in which EU enterprises operate, with a strong focus on end users. Under the "any other businesses" items the Presidency will inform about the state of play concerning the patent package.

Only the original language version is authentic and it prevails in the event of its differing from the translated versions.
PDF version

00:00:00 Title 00:00:05
00:00:05 Arrival of Zoltan Csefalvay, Hungarian Minister of State for National Economy 00:00:06
00:00:11 Arrival of Enzo Moavero Milanesi, Italian Minister for European Affairs 00:00:07
00:00:18 Arrival of Antonio Tajani, Vice President in charge of Industry and Entrepreneurship 00:00:10
00:00:28 Arrival of Jason Azzopardi, Maltese Parliamenty Secretary for Revenues and Land in the Ministry of Finance, the Economy and Investment 00:00:04
00:00:32 Arrival of Tamara Obradovic Mazal, Croatian deputy Minister of Economy 00:00:06
00:00:38 Arrival of Council members 00:00:06
00:00:44 Arrival of Kris Peeters, Belgian Minister President of Flanders, with additional competences of Institutional Affairs, Economy, Agriculture and Sea Fisheries. 00:00:07
00:00:51 Arrival of Lauri Ihalainen, Minister of Labour of Finland 00:00:08
00:00:59 END 00:00:00
Audiovisual Services
European Commission
Conditions of use
© European Union, 2015