Transport, Telecommunications and Energy Council: roundtable (transport)

Type: News   Reference: 81804   Duration: 00:02:52  Lieu: Brussels, Belgium - Council
End production: 12/12/2011   First transmission: 12/12/2011
The first day of this TTE Council will be dedicated to transport issues, and the second day to telecommunications issues. The Monday session on transport is chaired by Sławomir Nowak, Polish Minister for Transport, Construction and Maritime Economy. The Council is due to adopt a political agreement on a directive establishing a single European railway area, which is a recast of the first railway package adopted in 2001. The Council is expected to seek a partial general approach on the proposal for a regulation on tachographs for professional drivers. Transport ministers will take stock of the state of play on new guidelines defining a long-term strategy for the development of the trans-European transport network (TEN-T). The Council is expected to reach a general approach on updating the directive on the minimum level of training for seafarers, with a view to aligning EU legislation with recent amendments to the International Convention on Standards of Training, Certification and Watchkeeping for Seafarers (STWC). The Council is also due to agree on a general approach on the recast of the 2002 regulation on the phasing-in of double-hull requirements for single-hull oil tankers. Over lunch, ministers will discuss the issue "Transport and Innovation - competition or synergy?".

Only the original language version is authentic and it prevails in the event of its differing from the translated versions.
PDF version

00:00:00 Title 00:00:05
00:00:05 Sławomir Nowak, Polish Minister for Transport, Construction and Maritime Economy (2 shots) 00:00:10
00:00:15 Siim Kallas, Vice President in charge of in charge of Transport (2 shots) 00:00:11
00:00:26 Cypriot representative (2 shots) 00:00:10
00:00:36 Leo Varadkar, Irish Minister for Transport, Tourism and Sports (2 shots) 00:00:10
00:00:46 Siim Kallas (2 shots) 00:00:11
00:00:57 Mavroudis Voridis, Greek Minister of transports and communications (3 shots) 00:00:16
00:01:13 Catharina Elmsäter-Svärd, Swedish Minister for infrastructure 00:00:06
00:01:19 Arunas Staras, Lithuanian Vice-Minister of transport and communciations 00:00:03
00:01:22 Czech representative 00:00:06
00:01:28 Portuguese representative (2 shots) 00:00:09
00:01:37 Melchior Wathelet, Belgian Secretary of State for Budget (2 shots) 00:00:15
00:01:52 Maltese representative 00:00:03
00:01:55 Jan Hudacky, Slovak State Secretary for Transport 00:00:03
00:01:58 Claude Wiseler, Luxembourg Minister of infrastructure 00:00:02
00:02:00 Czech representative 00:00:01
00:02:02 Corrado Passera, Italian Minister for Economic Development, Infrastructure and Transport 00:00:03
00:02:05 Henrik Dam Kristensen, Danish Minister for Transport 00:00:04
00:02:09 Spanish delegation 00:00:03
00:02:12 Catharina Elmsäter-Svärd (2 shots) 00:00:12
00:02:24 German delegation 00:00:05
00:02:29 Doris Bures, Austrian Minister of Transports, innovation and technology 00:00:04
00:02:33 Dutch delegation 00:00:05
00:02:38 José Blanco Lopez, Spanish Minister of Equipment 00:00:10
00:02:48 General view of the meeting room 00:00:04
00:02:52 END 00:00:00
Audiovisual Services
European Commission
Conditions of use
© European Union, 2015