RegioStars: Awards for Regional Innovative Projects: award ceremony with the participation of Johannes Hahn

Type: Report   Reference: I-070341   Duration: 10:01:55  Lieu:
End production: 23/06/2011   First transmission: 23/06/2011
On 23 June 2011, Johannes Hahn, Member of the EC in charge of Regional Policy, along with Ann Mettler, Executive Director and co-Founder of The Lisbon Council and President of the Jury, announced the winners in the six separate categories of the "RegioStars Awards" 2011. The prize giving ceremony recognises the most innovative projects that have been supported by European cohesion policy. All EU regions were invited to submit projects which had received funding from the European Regional Development Fund (ERDF) or the Cohesion Fund after 1 January 2000. 66 eligible applications were submitted from 18 Member States, out of which 31 projects were shortlisted by the jury. This year, six awards were on offer: two on the "economic competitiveness" theme, two for "low carbon economy" and two awards for "information and communication".

Only the original language version is authentic and it prevails in the event of its differing from the translated versions.
PDF version

10:00:00 Title 00:00:05
10:00:05 Exterior view of the Bozar building in Brussels 00:00:06
10:00:11 SOUNDBITE by Johannes Hahn, Member of the EC in charge of Regional Policy (in ENGLISH): So, as in previous years, we had no difficulties attracting candidates for the 2011 edition of RegioStars. 66 candidates from 18 Member States entered the race, which is testimony to the continued interest there is for this type of award. Nevertheless I am hopeful that in the forthcoming years we will manage to have all the 27 Member States participating in this race. From all the candidates, 31 have been retained as finalists: 21 for the thematic categories and 10 for the Information and Communication category. I want to congratulate them all for this great achievement. And a special congratulation to the 6 winners – who this year come from Madeira, the Azores, Amsterdam, Northern Mid Sweden, Wales and Northern Periphery municipalities involved together in territorial cooperation activities. 00:01:00
10:01:12 Cutaway of the Jury 00:00:07
10:01:19 General view of the ceremony 00:00:04
10:01:23 Cutaway of the audience 00:00:03
10:01:27 Group photo with the finalists, in the presence of Ann Mettler, President of the Jury of the RegioStars, 5th, and Johannes Hahn, 6th (from left to right) (2 shots) 00:00:13
10:01:40 General view of the ceremony 00:00:04
10:01:44 Group photo with the finalists for category "Promoting sustainable energy in cities" (category 3): Ann Mettler, 2nd, Carolien Gehrels, Alderman of Amsterdam, 4th, and Johannes Hahn, 5th (from left to right) (4 shots) 00:00:10
10:01:55 General views of the ceremony (2 shots) 00:00:07
Audiovisual Services
European Commission
Conditions of use
© European Union, 2015