Weekly meeting of the Barroso Commission: round table

Type: Report   Reference: I-058038   Duration: 10:52:36  Lieu:
End production: 25/06/2008   First transmission: 25/06/2008
The College of Commissioners met on 25 June 2008 in Brussels for its weekly meeting. Their agenda included the approval of the Small Bussiness Act, which will set out principles and concrete measures to improve the framework conditions for European Small and Medium Sized Enterprises, while taking full account of their diversity. Its aim is to fully unlock SMEs potential for growth, innovation and job creation. Antonio Tajani, Vice-President of the EC in charge of Transport, presented the second package of the Single European Sky, an ambitious package of measures for the aviation domain that will significantly enhance the Air Traffic Management system, directly contribute to the reduction of costs for air transport, and reduce not only fuel burn but also the overall impact of aviation to the environment. The new Air Traffic Management System shall ensure a systematic monitoring of each flight, guarantee shorter flights, respect much more the environment and reduce the overall costs for airspace users. The College also adopted its ninth annual 'Public Finances in EMU' report. The report analyses recent budgetary developments and assesses the outlook over the coming year, for the Euro area and the EU and the individual Member States. It also examines developments in the EU’s fiscal surveillance framework, specifically concerning the assessment of the structural budget balance and the measurement of the quality of public finances.

Only the original language version is authentic and it prevails in the event of its differing from the translated versions.
PDF version

10:50:19 Title 00:00:04
10:50:24 Exterior view of the European Commission building 00:00:06
10:50:30 Arrival of Louis Michel, Member of the EC in charge of Development and Humanitarian Aid, and Janez Potocnik, Member of the EC in charge of Science and Research 00:00:16
10:50:46 Janez Potocnik 00:00:06
10:50:52 Louis Michel 00:00:08
10:51:00 Siim Kallas, Vice-President of the EC in charge of Administrative Affairs, Audit and Anti-Fraud 00:00:07
10:51:07 Arrival of Androulla Vassiliou, Member of the EC in charge of Health 00:00:12
10:51:19 Arrival of Mariann Fischer Boel, Member of the EC in charge of Agriculture and Rural Development, and Peter Mandelson, Member of the EC in charge of Trade 00:00:13
10:51:32 Günter Verheugen, Vice-President of the EC in charge of Enterprise and Industry (2 shots) 00:00:19
10:51:51 Danuta Hübner, Member of the EC in charge of Regional Policy 00:00:06
10:51:57 Arrival of José Manuel Barroso, President of the EC (2 shots) 00:00:28
10:52:25 General view of the round table 00:00:11
10:52:36 Arrival of Olli Rehn, Member of the EC in charge of Enlargement, and Antonio Tajani, Vice-President of the EC in charge of Transport 00:00:26
Audiovisual Services
European Commission
Conditions of use
© European Union, 2015