Economic and Financial Affairs Council: round table

Type: Report   Reference: I-056419   Duration: 10:18:30  Lieu:
End production: 12/02/2008   First transmission: 12/02/2008
Following the previous night's decision at the Eurogroup to put pressure on France and, to a lesser extent, on Italy to show leniency over their deficits, the 27 Finance Ministers of the EU were due to vote on 12 February 2008 on the European Commission's assessment of various countries' budgetary programmes, including those of France, Italy, Germany and the United Kingdom. Ministers discussed the economic situation and outlook since they last met on 21 January 2008. The relative growth outlook for Europe will be reassessed in the next Commission Interim Forecast (21 February), which will update the outlook for growth and inflation, for the largest economies, the EU and the Euro area. The Finance Ministers also prepared the European Spring Council (March) where the Heads of State and Government will discuss the Lisbon package.

Only the original language version is authentic and it prevails in the event of its differing from the translated versions.
PDF version

10:16:36 Title 00:00:04
10:16:41 Christine Lagarde, French Minister for Economy, Finance and Employment, and Wouter Bos, Dutch Minister for Finance (3 shots) 00:00:15
10:16:56 Georgios Alogoskoufis, Greek Minister for Economy and Finance, and Christine Lagarde 00:00:05
10:17:01 Jeannot Krecké, Luxembourgish Minister for Economy and Foreign Trade, and Didier Reynders, Belgian Minister for Finance (3 shots) 00:00:13
10:17:14 Philippe Maystadt, President of the European Investment Bank, and Joaquín Almunia, Member of the EC in charge of Economic and Monetary Affairs (3 shots) 00:00:15
10:17:29 Czech delegation 00:00:06
10:17:35 General view 00:00:07
10:17:42 Tommaso Padoa-Schioppa, Italian Minister for Economy and Finance, and Philippe Maystadt 00:00:07
10:17:49 Andrej Bajuk, Slovenian Minister for Finance and President in office of the Council (3 shots) 00:00:13
10:18:02 Jeannot Krecké, Didier Reynders and Christine Lagarde 00:00:07
10:18:09 Joaquín Almunia (2 shots) 00:00:12
10:18:21 Andrej Bajuk (2 shots) 00:00:09
10:18:30 General views (3 shots) 00:00:20
Audiovisual Services
European Commission
Conditions of use
© European Union, 2015