Eurogroup meeting: round table

Type: Report   Reference: I-056415   Duration: 10:10:38  Lieu:
End production: 11/02/2008   First transmission: 11/02/2008
The Finance Ministers of the Eurogroup met on 11 February 2008 in Brussels for their monthly discussion on the economic outlook of the Euro area. France and Italy were likely to face pressure from their partners, after the European Commission (in its recent recommendations for Council opinions on the updated stability programmes) urged the two countries in January to be more ambitious in taking measures to cut their budget deficit. José Manuel Barroso, President of the EC, attended the meeting. In a statement issued that day, he stressed that foundations of the Euro and of the Lisbon Strategy were sound but there was much work still to be done. The Ministers were also informed about the G7 Finance Ministers meeting in Tokyo.

Only the original language version is authentic and it prevails in the event of its differing from the translated versions.
PDF version

10:06:21 Title 00:00:04
10:06:26 Exterior view of the Council building 00:00:07
10:06:33 Arrival of Tommaso Padoa-Schioppa, Italian Minister for Economy and Finance 00:00:07
10:06:40 Arrival of Peer Steinbrück, German Federal Minister for Finance 00:00:09
10:06:49 Arrival of José Manuel Barroso, President of the EC, joined by Wilhelm Molterer, Austrian Federal Minister for Finance (3 shots) 00:00:28
10:07:17 Peer Steinbrück with Wilhelm Molterer and Tommaso Padoa-Schioppa (2 shots) 00:00:16
10:07:33 José Manuel Barroso and Michalis Sarris, Cypriot Minister for Finance (2 shots) 00:00:14
10:07:47 General view 00:00:07
10:07:54 José Manuel Barroso (2 shots) 00:00:14
10:08:08 Wouter Bos, Dutch Minister for Finance, joining Georgios Alogoskoufis, Greek Minister for Economy and Finance, and Peer Steinbrück (4 shots) 00:00:33
10:08:41 Cutaway of photographers 00:00:08
10:08:49 General view of Ministers 00:00:14
10:09:03 Arrival of Joaquín Almunia, Member of the EC in charge of Economic and Monetary Affairs, joining José Manuel Barroso (2 shots) 00:00:20
10:09:23 Arrival of Christine Lagarde, French Minister for Economy, Finance and Employment, and handshake with Joaquín Almunia and José Manuel Barroso 00:00:10
10:09:33 Wilhelm Molterer 00:00:05
10:09:38 Arrival of Jean-Claude Juncker, Luxembourgish Minister for Finance and President of the Eurogroup, and handshake with José Manuel Barroso (2 shots) 00:00:17
10:09:55 Christine Lagarde shaking hands with other EU Ministers 00:00:11
10:10:06 General view 00:00:08
10:10:14 Wilhelm Molterer, Christine Lagarde and Jean-Claude Trichet, President of the European Central Bank 00:00:10
10:10:24 Jean-Claude Trichet 00:00:14
10:10:38 Jean-Claude Juncker 00:00:06
Audiovisual Services
European Commission
Conditions of use
© European Union, 2015