Enlargement of the Schengen area: Estonia/Latvia border control

Type: Report   Reference: I-056028   Duration: 11:19:20  Lieu:
End production: 20/12/2007   First transmission: 20/12/2007
As of 21 December 2007, Estonia, the Czech Republic, Lithuania, Hungary, Latvia, Malta, Poland, Slovakia and Slovenia became part of the Schengen area. Controls at internal land and sea borders between these countries and the 15 previous Member States were lifted. This resulted in a very tangible expression of the free movement ideal: this latest enlargement extended the free movement area by 4,278 km. On Estonia's Southern border with Latvia, customs personnel at the Ikla border post carried out their last border controls, as what used to be the biggest border control post on the Latvian border would be closing down under the Schengen agreement as from midnight.

Only the original language version is authentic and it prevails in the event of its differing from the translated versions.
PDF version

11:16:24 Title 00:00:04
11:16:29 Various views of the Estonian border post in Ikla (7 shots) 00:00:58
11:17:27 Border control stop sign 00:00:13
11:17:40 Border guard checking a Polish truck (2 shots) 00:00:14
11:17:54 General views of customs officials controling trucks (2 shots) 00:00:32
11:18:26 Customs officials checking papers and ID's of a car passenger (3 shots) 00:00:22
11:18:48 Various views of border controls showing foreign plates (5 shots) 00:00:32
11:19:20 Latvian border post next to the Estonian one (2 shots) 00:00:16
Audiovisual Services
European Commission
Conditions of use
© European Union, 2015