Visit of Siim Kallas in the port of Antwerp

Type: Report   Reference: I-055361   Duration: 10:52:31  Lieu:
End production: 25/10/2007   First transmission: 25/10/2007
Siim Kallas, Vice-President of the EC in charge of Administrative Affairs, Audit and Anti-fraud, visited the Customs Headquarter in the Port of Antwerp, to get a general overview of the customs activities in Antwerp. In the wake of the 9/11 terrorist attacks in the United States, the Belgian authorities have reinforced their operations and cross-border cooperation, pursuing a double-track approach, on the one hand to distinguish legal trade from illegal one, and on the other hand to prevent terrorist material to enter the Belgian territory. On 24 November 2004, Belgian and American authorities signed an agreement called "Megaports Initiative" by which Belgium will cooperate with the US Department of Energy Program. This initiative is aimed at preventing terrorists from smuggling components for nuclear weapons and "dirty bombs" through seaports. Under this program, radiation detection equipment were installed at the Antwerp seaport, one of the world's busiest seaports, to detect hidden shipments of nuclear materials and other radioactive elements.

Only the original language version is authentic and it prevails in the event of its differing from the translated versions.
PDF version

10:49:04 Title 00:00:04
10:49:09 Exterior view of the Belgian customs scan site in the port of Antwerp 00:00:08
10:49:17 Arrival of Siim Kallas, Vice-President of the EC in charge of Administrative Affairs, Audit and Anti-fraud 00:00:22
10:49:39 Truck being checked through the scan (6 shots) 00:00:47
10:50:26 Checking in the office of the scan site (12 shots) 00:01:33
10:51:59 Visit of the Central Alarm Station (4 shots) 00:00:22
10:52:21 Siim Kallas leaving to Megaports Initiative 00:00:10
10:52:31 Megaports Initiative at the PSA Terminal of the port of Antwerp (Quay 869) - control of trucks (11 shots) 00:01:34
Audiovisual Services
European Commission
Conditions of use
© European Union, 2015