Environment Council: arrivals and round table

Type: Report   Reference: I-055473   Duration: 10:21:04  Lieu:
End production: 30/10/2007   First transmission: 30/10/2007
The European Ministers for the Environment met in Luxembourg to discuss the provisional prohibition of the use and sale in Austria of genetically modified maize, to prepare the UN Conference on Climate Change (Bali, 3 to 14 December 2007), water scarcity and droughts in the EU and a renewed EU Sustainable Development Strategy. A heated debate was expected on the future of a ban on two GMO-maize varieties in Austria. The European Commission proposed for Vienna to be forced to drop its national ban on the import and processing into food and feed of two types of genetically modified maize - MON810 and T25 - in order to conform to WTO rules. Ministers, divided on the issue, were expected to vote by qualified majority to either adopt or reject the Commission's proposal. The table is split fifty-fifty, however. Should Member States fail to reach a qualified majority position, it would be up to the Commission to decide on the matter under EU rules on GMOs.

Only the original language version is authentic and it prevails in the event of its differing from the translated versions.
PDF version

10:16:45 Title 00:00:04
10:16:50 Arrival of Jacqueline Cramer, Dutch Minister for the Environment and Spatial Planning (2 shots) 00:00:18
10:17:08 Cutaway of policeman 00:00:07
10:17:15 Arrival of Sigmar Gabriel, German Federal Minister for the Environment 00:00:09
10:17:24 Sigmar Gabriel (in GERMAN) on the preparation for the UN Climate Change Conference in Bali 00:00:20
10:17:44 Arrival of George Pullicino, Maltese Minister for Rural Affairs and the Environment 00:00:09
10:17:53 Cutaway of press 00:00:08
10:18:01 Arrival of Josef Pröll, Austrian Federal Minister for Agriculture, Forestry, the Environment and Water Management (2 shots) 00:00:23
10:18:24 Josef Pröll (in GERMAN) on the genetically modified maize; being optimistic to find a suitable solution for Austria 00:00:34
10:18:58 Lucien Lux, Luxembourgish Minister for the Environment, with George Pullicino and Stavros Dimas, Member of the EC in charge of Environment 00:00:07
10:19:05 Cutaway of cameraman 00:00:05
10:19:10 Cristina Narbona Ruiz, Spanish Minister for the Environment, with Stavros Dimas 00:00:09
10:19:19 General view of the meeting 00:00:06
10:19:25 Andreas Carlgren, Swedish Minister for the Environemnt 00:00:10
10:19:35 Josef Pröll and Stavros Dimas (3 shots) 00:00:33
10:20:08 Francisco Nunes Correia, Portuguese Minister for the Environment, Spatial Planning and Regional Development and President in office of the Council (2 shots) 00:00:15
10:20:23 Josef Pröll and Sigmar Gabriel (2 shots) 00:00:19
10:20:42 Nathalie Kosciusko-Morizet, French Minister of State, attached to the Minister for Ecology and Sustainable Planning and Development, responsible for Ecology 00:00:08
10:20:50 Josef Pröll (2 shots) 00:00:14
10:21:04 General view of the meeting room 00:00:06
Audiovisual Services
European Commission
Conditions of use
© European Union, 2015