Environment Council: arrivals and round table

Type: Report   Reference: I-054541   Duration: 11:08:11  Lieu:
End production: 28/06/2007
The Ministers for the Environment from the 27 Member States of the EU met in Luxembourg on 28 June 2007. They intended to reach a political agreement on the revision of the waste framework directive, a new directive limiting hazardous emissions to water and a regulation banning the export of mercury. The Council also aimed to adopt conclusions on the revised EU strategy for reducing CO2 emissions from new cars, the revision of the EU Emissions Trading Scheme for greenhouse gases. A further set of conclusions is intended to give new impetus to EU environment policy. Ministers also discussed whether to authorize a genetically modified potato for cultivation in Europe and aimed to adopt a decision on the EU's participation in international negotiations on liability for damage resulting from transboundary movements of GMOs. The agenda included the presentation by the Commission of a report on the directive on deliberate release of GMOs.

Only the original language version is authentic and it prevails in the event of its differing from the translated versions.
PDF version

11:04:38 Title 00:00:04
11:04:43 Greenpeace demonstration against GM food in front of the Council of the EU (4 shots) 00:00:27
11:05:10 Marco Contiero, Greenpeace European Unit policy adviser on genetic engineering, (in ENGLISH) saying that the Greenpeace demonstrators are asking the Ministers to protect citizens from the risk of GM food; the problem is that GM food nowadays is authorized but is not properly risk assessed, so we don't actually know whether these products that have been authorized are safe for humans, animals and environment 00:00:27
11:05:37 Arrival of Sigmar Gabriel, German Federal Minister for the Environment, Nature Conservation and Nuclear safety, and President in office of the Council of the EU 00:00:07
11:05:44 Arrival of George Pullicino, Maltese Minister for Rural Affairs and the Environment 00:00:05
11:05:49 Arrival of Connie Hedegaard, Danish Minister for the Environment 00:00:08
11:05:57 Arrival of Jean-Louis Borloo, French Minister for Ecology and Sustainable Planning and Development, and of Cristina Narbona Ruiz, Spanish Minister for the Environment 00:00:09
11:06:06 Jacqueline Cramer, Dutch Minister for Housing, Spatial Planning and the Environment 00:00:08
11:06:14 George Pullicino (2 shots) 00:00:10
11:06:24 Cristina Narbona Ruiz 00:00:04
11:06:28 General view of the meeting 00:00:06
11:06:34 Lucien Lux, Luxembourgish Minister for the Environment 00:00:07
11:06:41 Stavros Dimas, Member of the EC in charge of Environment, and Jean-Louis Borloo (3 shots) 00:00:22
11:07:03 Jean-Louis Borloo 00:00:08
11:07:11 Sigmar Gabriel 00:00:15
11:07:26 Jean-Louis Borloo 00:00:05
11:07:31 Sigmar Gabriel (2 shots) 00:00:14
11:07:45 Stavros Dimas (2 shots) 00:00:09
11:07:54 General view of the meeting 00:00:06
11:08:00 Jacqueline Cramer 00:00:11
11:08:11 General view of the meeting 00:00:05
Audiovisual Services
European Commission
Conditions of use
© European Union, 2016