Navigation path

Login   |   Register

Advanced search Search in:    Audio    Photo    Video    Shotlist


European Union Prize for Literature: extracts from the speeches at the Award ceremony and group photo with the laureates


The first edition of the European Union Prize for Literature took place on 28 September 2009 in Brussels during a high-profile ceremony at which public figures from the field of culture, literature and politics, as well as a broad European audience, were present. The Prize will be awarded in three phases, in the years 2009, 2010, and 2011, with eleven or twelve winners each time. This way, by 2011, a winning talent will have been identified in each of the 34 countries in the EU's Culture Programme, which is co-funding the prize. The 12 countries selected for the 2009 Awards are: Austria, Croatia, France, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Lithuania, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia and Sweden. In 2010, Belgium, Cyprus, Denmark, Estonia, Germany, Finland, Luxembourg, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Romania, Slovenia and Spain will participate. They will be followed by Bulgaria, the Czech Republic, Greece, Iceland, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Malta, Serbia, The Netherlands, Turkey and the United Kingdom, in 2011. The aim of the European Union Prize for Literature is to put the spotlight on the creative and diverse wealth of Europe's contemporary literature, promoting greater circulation of literature within Europe and interest in non-national literary works. The Prize is co-financed by the Culture Programme and by a consortium composed of the European Booksellers Federation (EBF), the European Writers' Congress (EWC) and the Federation of European Publishers (FEP). The consortium asked national bodies to establish a jury for the selection of this prize within their country. The Prize-giving ceremony took place in the Flagey arts centre in Brussels and it was attended by Henning Mankell, Ambassador of the 2009 European Union Prize for Literature, José Manuel Barroso, President of the EC, and Ján Figel', Member of the EC in charge of Education, Training, Culture and Youth.

Type: EbS   Reference: 65755   Date: 28/09/2009   Duration: 00:04:13
To download, please log in

Related media

Employment, Social Policy, Health and Consumer Affairs Council, 2980th meeting: ...
Ref: 67016
Date: 01/12/2009
Justice and Home Affairs Council, 2979th meeting: arrivals
Ref: 67011
Date: 01/12/2009
Employment, Social Policy, Health and Consumer Affairs Council, 2980th meeting: ...
Ref: 67015
Date: 01/12/2009
Justice and Home Affairs Council, 2979th meeting: round table
Ref: 67012
Date: 01/12/2009
Eurogroup Meeting: round table
Ref: 67024
Date: 01/12/2009
Visit of Herman Van Rompuy, Belgian Prime Minister and President designate of ...
Ref: 67113
Date: 01/12/2009
Visit of José Manuel Barroso and Fredrik Reinfeldt, Swedish Prime Minister and ...
Ref: 67070
Date: 01/12/2009
Eurogroup Meeting: arrivals
Ref: 67023
Date: 01/12/2009
Video Player (V2)
Need some help?

Press packs

Go to useful links page Useful links

Go to rss page Go to EU Tube page Go to twitter page Go to facebook page Go to contact page

Credit © European Union, 2014