This site has been archived on 31/10/2011

Institutional Reform of the European Union

This website offers information on the latest developments of the European Union institutional reform. There are several stages which have been of particular significance: the Treaty of Nice (which came into force on 1 February 2003), the European Convention (which finished in July 2003), the Intergovernmental Conference (IGC) 2003/2004 (October 2003–June 2004) and the European Constitution (signed in October 2004). Following the rejection of the European Constitution by France and the Netherlands in 2005 and a two-year period of reflection, on 23 June 2007 EU leaders agreed on a detailed mandate for a new Intergovernmental Conference. The task of this Intergovernmental Conference was to draw up a Reform Treaty by the end of 2007.

On 19 October 2007, the informal European Council in Lisbon adopted the final text of the Treaty, as drawn up by the IGC. The Heads of State and Government of the 27 Member States of the European Union signed the Treaty of Lisbon on 13 December 2007. The Treaty entered into force on 1 December 2009.

For an overview of all the stages which have resulted in this new Treaty you can also consult the detailed calendar of the reform.


Treaty of Lisbon

Intergovernmental Conference 2007

A Constitution for Europe

Work of the IGC in 2003/2004

Outcome of the European Convention

Treaty of Nice: a comprehensive guide